Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Curious to see how the phone responds to a T-MO sim w/ no 3g. I ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    homexlife's Avatar
    homexlife no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    19

    Anyone on T-Mo using ATT Bold?

    Advertisement



    Curious to see how the phone responds to a T-MO sim w/ no 3g. I need to get a phone ASAP and wondering if the ATT bold will do the trick just as well as the Rogers one will.

  2. #2
    planneau's Avatar
    planneau no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,029
    There are some stackers that are using rogers bold on Tmo and other unlocked bolds. The 3g will not work because the bold dose not handle the Tmo 3g frequency.

    But it works very well with the EDGE network. If you want the 3g then you have to go to ATT.

    My bold is in the mail and my carrier is Tmo.
    ..........SHAKE N BAKE..........

  3. #3
    homexlife's Avatar
    homexlife no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    19
    Thanks. Ya i understand that concept, but what I am curious about is how an unlocked ATT bold will react to a t-mo sim. Since there is no option of shutting off 3g on an ATT model, will the phone look for the 3g signal the whole time or will it just automatically run off edge?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by homexlife View Post
    Thanks. Ya i understand that concept, but what I am curious about is how an unlocked ATT bold will react to a t-mo sim. Since there is no option of shutting off 3g on an ATT model, will the phone look for the 3g signal the whole time or will it just automatically run off edge?
    Great question and here is your answer:
    The phone WILL run off Edge but will constantly be looking for a 3G signal which will drain your battery pretty fast.
    On T-Mo i would recommend a Rogers unlocked Bold which have the "Turn 3G Off" option in their ROM so you can save your battery life.

  5. #5
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Great question and here is your answer:
    The phone WILL run off Edge but will constantly be looking for a 3G signal which will drain your battery pretty fast.
    On T-Mo i would recommend a Rogers unlocked Bold which have the "Turn 3G Off" option in their ROM so you can save your battery life.
    Holy wow, another confirming reason for me not to get the bold. Thanks!

  6. #6
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    great info anyone else using tmo with bold yet?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    theres a bunch of stackers around but again ALL using Rogers Bolds on Edge.

  8. #8
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    those im asuuming we can get through ebay.... not sure if local anyone would have it where i am... hmmmmm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    I can send one your way if you want all you have to do is send me the money to cover the purchase of the bold outright and the shipping to you i dont want any extra money ill just buy it and ship it to you.
    If you want references for me look for the thread jimbee made about me when i did this for him (buying bold).
    Let me know

  10. #10
    psallee's Avatar
    psallee no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    243705F2
    Posts
    82
    Would the same be true for Verizon? I have a friend that wants the bold, but I'm not sure what to tell him since he is on verizon.

  11. #11
    meCka's Avatar
    meCka no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B482B1
    Posts
    55
    I have a Unlocked Rogers Bold on T-mobile USA and everything works perfect!

    Only thing is that we have no 3G,so be sure to turn 3G off to save battery. It helped me alot. If you need any help PIN me ill be glad to help anyone out.

  12. #12
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    I can send one your way if you want all you have to do is send me the money to cover the purchase of the bold outright and the shipping to you i dont want any extra money ill just buy it and ship it to you.
    If you want references for me look for the thread jimbee made about me when i did this for him (buying bold).
    Let me know
    hnmmm sound interesting... what would the price be?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Well you figure out the shipping from Ottawa, ON Canada to wherever you are using UPS and let me know.
    As far as the phone itself itll be 649.99CAD + 13% Ontario tax = 735CAD =
    637.621 USD

    Plus shipping + 20$ CAD for packing supplies (we forgot that with JB so he just sent a BodyGuarz skin my way).
    Let me know

  14. #14
    ocanyc's Avatar
    ocanyc no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    628
    So is this a fact that an unlocked ATT Bold used on a TMO EDGE network will constantly search for a 3G signal thus draining the battery life and/or interrupt signal all together?

    Can anyone confirm this?

  15. #15
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738

    No

    Quote Originally Posted by psallee View Post
    Would the same be true for Verizon? I have a friend that wants the bold, but I'm not sure what to tell him since he is on verizon.
    Verizon is CDMA, the Bold is a GSM only device, there is no way the current model will ever work on Verizon.

    Wait for the CDMA model using EvDO

    The Bold 9030

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •