Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50

I understand that Tmo and ATT 3G networks are different frequency bands. This being the ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    3G compatible with Tmo AND AT&T?

    Advertisement



    I understand that Tmo and ATT 3G networks are different frequency bands. This being the case, will the 9700's from each carrier only work on that carrier's 3G? In other words, if I buy a Tmo 9700 and unlock it, will it work on ATT's 3G network and vice versa? I'm only asking in regards to the 3G capability...obviously voice and EDGE will work on both.

  2. #2
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895
    according to http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...ifications.jsp, the 9700 handles UMTS: 2100/1900/850/800 MHz (Bands 1,2,5/6) and 2100/1700/900 MHz (Bands 1,4,8). looks to me like it should work just fine.

  3. #3
    dakid2k6's Avatar
    dakid2k6 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    248
    That's correct. If you buy a tmo 9700 and unlock it it won't work on ATT 3G, and if you buy a ATT 9700 and unlock it, it won't work on tmo 3G.

  4. #4
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Ok...two opposite opinions...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Apple
    Posts
    1,749
    Quote Originally Posted by dakid2k6 View Post
    That's correct. If you buy a tmo 9700 and unlock it it won't work on ATT 3G, and if you buy a ATT 9700 and unlock it, it won't work on tmo 3G.

    I'm pretty sure it will work on either networK. Its the same device. That's the reason that t-mobile doesn't have the 9000, it doesn't support their 3G frequency.
    Last edited by BHP77; 12-05-2009 at 08:42 AM.

  6. #6
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by anfrey View Post
    according to http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...ifications.jsp, the 9700 handles UMTS: 2100/1900/850/800 MHz (Bands 1,2,5/6) and 2100/1700/900 MHz (Bands 1,4,8). looks to me like it should work just fine.
    I realize it says "and" between those bands, but I think it should actually read "or" because band 1 is repeated in both and Tmo is band 4 while ATT is band 2. So I think that means Tmo 9700's are 2100/1700/900 and ATT units are 2100/1900/850/800. If that is the case, then as I feared you can't switch carriers and keep 3G capability. Can someone please confirm this?

  7. #7
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895
    just look at the specs like i did.

    t-mo 3g uses 1700mhz and 2100mhz
    at&t 3g uses 850mhz and 1900mhz

    the phone supports 2100/1900/850/800 MHz (which at&t supports) and 2100/1700/900 MHz (which t-mo supports).

    seems pretty simple to me


    i believe the frequencies are arranged in spectrum bands, which is why 2100mhz is repeated.

  8. #8
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by anfrey View Post
    just look at the specs like i did.

    t-mo 3g uses 1700mhz and 2100mhz
    at&t 3g uses 850mhz and 1900mhz

    the phone supports 2100/1900/850/800 MHz (at&t) and 2100/1700/900 MHz (t-mo).

    seems pretty simple to me
    Read above. I DONT think that there is just one hardware version . Otherwise why would the write it the way they did, clearly grouped by carrier and repeating the 2100mhz part. I think there is a hardware version for Tmo and a different one for ATT. I hope not, but logically that's what it looks like to me.

  9. #9
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by anfrey View Post

    i believe the frequencies are arranged in spectrum bands, which is why 2100mhz is repeated.
    Perhaps.

  10. #10
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895
    Quote Originally Posted by AviatorJud View Post
    Read above. I DONT think that there is just one hardware version . Otherwise why would the write it the way they did, clearly grouped by carrier and repeating the 2100mhz part. I think there is a hardware version for Tmo and a different one for ATT. I hope not, but logically that's what it looks like to me.
    my apologies. i was already typing my response when you posted yours, which is why i amended my post. looking at the RIM site, there doesn't seem to be any model variations. besides, there's more carriers in the world carrying this phone than just att & tmo. i believe the spectrum bands indicate that it is compatible with several "sets" of frequencies. your best bet would probably be to call RIM. this is the phone number of their manufacturing facility in waterloo: (519) 888-7465

  11. #11
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by anfrey View Post
    my apologies. i was already typing my response when you posted yours, which is why i amended my post. looking at the RIM site, there doesn't seem to be any model variations. besides, there's more carriers in the world carrying this phone than just att & tmo. i believe the spectrum bands indicate that it is compatible with several "sets" of frequencies. your best bet would probably be to call RIM. this is the phone number of their manufacturing facility in waterloo: (519) 888-7465
    I hope that is the case. Good idea on the calling RIM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Apple
    Posts
    1,749
    I would highly doubt that they make two models of the same phone for different companies. That doesn't make much sense as the cost to manufacture would go up.

  13. #13
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    Here are my two cents on this.
    ATT 2G frequency is 2100 Mhz
    Tmo 2G frequency is 2100 MHz
    What this means is they use the same frequency for 2G, don't forget att uses tmo network for raming in certain areas

    Both of them have a different frequency for 3G, what makes the phone to stuck on the carriers network is the Branding aka vendor ID, I'm assuming that might work only if you have a RIM branded device (Vendor ID 1), till I find a way to do re brand this device I can't verify, tried swapping SIM cards. And did not work, att Sim on tmo 9700 gets EDGE and vice.

    Hope this make sense and helps

  14. #14
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by ealvnv View Post
    Here are my two cents on this.
    ATT 2G frequency is 2100 Mhz
    Tmo 2G frequency is 2100 MHz
    What this means is they use the same frequency for 2G, don't forget att uses tmo network for raming in certain areas

    Both of them have a different frequency for 3G, what makes the phone to stuck on the carriers network is the Branding aka vendor ID, I'm assuming that might work only if you have a RIM branded device (Vendor ID 1), till I find a way to do re brand this device I can't verify, tried swapping SIM cards. And did not work, att Sim on tmo 9700 gets EDGE and vice.

    Hope this make sense and helps
    Ok so you're saying you have indeed swapped sim cards and you did NOT get 3G on the other network? Was the phone unlocked?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Apple
    Posts
    1,749
    If it wasn't unlocked it wouldn't have picked up anything. Thanks for clarifying E.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •