Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hey, I tried to create a Charlie Brown/Peanuts theme yesterday...found some cute little icons on ... Software & Theme Development forum

  1. #1
    naibor's Avatar
    naibor no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    318FD2AF
    Posts
    287

    Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    Advertisement



    Hey,

    I tried to create a Charlie Brown/Peanuts theme yesterday...found some cute little icons on the web which were in the .ico format and the pixels were 32x32. So I converted them to .png format using Advanced Batch Converter. But when I finished the theme and downloaded it to my bb the icons looked horrible--blurry and too big!! I thought it would be okay since the pixel size was smaller than what the default size is in the PTB.

    I would have tested the theme first on the Media Engine Simulator before downloading to the bb but I can't seem to grasp how to use that either even after checking out the user guide....

    What am I doing wrong??? Please help

  2. #2
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    A little advanced for me, I'll let CP chime in here...
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    If Im not mistaken the icons need to be the correct size as all other icons are. What the BB will do is enlarge the icon to fit the correct size, which makes them look distorted.

  4. #4
    naibor's Avatar
    naibor no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    318FD2AF
    Posts
    287

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    Ooooohhhhhh!! ok! I'll try that....

  5. #5
    naibor's Avatar
    naibor no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    318FD2AF
    Posts
    287

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    ok...i'm at work so i'm using microsoft office picture manager. And when I resize to 60x56 the pic manager it automatically resizes it to 56x56. Either way the picture is still blurry so I might scrap this one and start over. Thanks for your help Chris!

  6. #6
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    When you resize the picture there should be an option to keep the proportion, make sure it is unchecked, otherwise it will resize it on its own.

  7. #7
    naibor's Avatar
    naibor no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    318FD2AF
    Posts
    287

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    I don't see that option anywhere..this software might an older version. Besides, I just deleted the whole peanuts icon file from my computer (..that was my controlled version of a temper tantrum!!)....

  8. #8
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    It could also be called preserve aspect ratio. LOL @ your tantrum.

  9. #9
    floridadomer's Avatar
    floridadomer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    317ce3cd
    Posts
    337

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    Quote Originally Posted by naibor
    Hey,

    I tried to create a Charlie Brown/Peanuts theme yesterday...found some cute little icons on the web which were in the .ico format and the pixels were 32x32. So I converted them to .png format using Advanced Batch Converter. But when I finished the theme and downloaded it to my bb the icons looked horrible--blurry and too big!! I thought it would be okay since the pixel size was smaller than what the default size is in the PTB.

    I would have tested the theme first on the Media Engine Simulator before downloading to the bb but I can't seem to grasp how to use that either even after checking out the user guide....

    What am I doing wrong??? Please help
    Just ran across your post. I had actually asked in another post if anyone knew of a snopy/peanuts theme. Please keep me updated if you suceed.
    Deano

  10. #10
    StevenInSTL's Avatar
    StevenInSTL no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    169

    Re: Problem with icons and plazmic media engine simulator

    actually...with .ico files, I use Photoshop to open the .ico and use the 32x32 icon and save as a .png. I find when you use .gif files as well and resize them they look terrible..so i've been converting to .png.

    If you need any other help..let me know.

    Steve

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •