Results 1 to 10 of 10

Can someone help me out here. I'd like to know how to wipe out my ... BlackBerry Tour forum

  1. #1
    rrenauc237's Avatar
    rrenauc237 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    30DA3B4B
    Posts
    23

    Question Wiping out The Tour

    Advertisement



    Can someone help me out here. I'd like to know how to wipe out my 9630 as I beleive I have a corrupt database. My carrier is TELUS mobility. I have backed up my BB, need to wipe it clean prior to restoring.
    Regards

    Rick Renaud

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Depends on what kind of wipe you are wanting to do. If a full wipe you will have to use one of the programs out there to do this. If you just want to d a security wipe the go to options/security options and select wipe.

  3. #3
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Check the Technical Support Blog link in my signature. There's a thread to download and utilize a tool called jl_cmndr, which will wipe your device.

    I understand there's also another tool available call BBSAK (BlackBerry Swiss Army Knife) that might be a little more user friendly. You can get that from RimGeeks.

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    And then there's what moderncowboy said, too. A security wipe will restore the device to its factory settings, whereas a full wipe will take out the whole operating system as well.

  5. #5
    rrenauc237's Avatar
    rrenauc237 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    30DA3B4B
    Posts
    23
    In my security options, I don't see Wipe. All I have listed under there is, General settings, Application Permissions, Certificate Servers, Certificates, Firewall, Key Stores, Memory Cleaning, Software Tokens, TLS and WTLS
    Regards

    Rick Renaud

  6. #6
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Go to OPTIONS-SCROLL DOWN TO SECURITY OPTIONS-GENERAL SETTINGS-HIT THE MENU WITH THE BB LOGO-SCROLL DOWN TO WIPE HANDHELD.
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  7. #7
    rrenauc237's Avatar
    rrenauc237 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    30DA3B4B
    Posts
    23
    Thanks all, I have found it and am currently wiping my BB. I'm will restore it and lets hope this resolves my LCD backlight issue. If not another 9630 is on its way( 7 days though)
    Regards

    Rick Renaud

  8. #8
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    sigh...those faulty tours why RIM, why!!!?? :cry:. If it's not the trackball is something else
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  9. #9
    rrenauc237's Avatar
    rrenauc237 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    30DA3B4B
    Posts
    23
    Well, that didn't work, screen was up for a bit now its dark again. I guess i'll have to wait for the replacement Tour to arrive.
    Regards

    Rick Renaud

  10. #10
    joezack's Avatar
    joezack no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    try the crackutilty.........wiping the blackberrys......

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •