Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hi, I am with Telus and thinking of picking up the Blackberry Tour. I have ... BlackBerry Tour forum

  1. #1
    quiksilver's Avatar
    quiksilver no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    306DA124
    Posts
    6

    Using Tour/Bold Overseas

    Advertisement



    Hi, I am with Telus and thinking of picking up the Blackberry Tour. I have been relocated overseas (Czech Republic) and was wondering if this phone would work over there on their GSM networks (Telefonica O2, Vodafone, T-Mobile) The other question is: Telus also offers the BB Bold 9700 that comes with a SIM card. If I were to unlock this phone, will I be able to use this phone with a European GSM carrier? or should I just stick to the BB Tour? From what I saw on the carriers sites, the "latest" model they offer is the BB Bold 9000. Not sure if this means that neither phone will work on the Czech carriers' networks. What are you thoughts?

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    This should be of help to you in making your decision.

  3. #3
    quiksilver's Avatar
    quiksilver no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    306DA124
    Posts
    6
    Wow quick reply But I am still confused. Is the Bold 9700 able to also do GSM/CDMA so therefore I could use it in Europe?

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    No, the 9700 is NOT a CDMA phone, the 9630 is, but both phones WILL work on GSM networks, which means they'd both work in Europe. Europe does not use CDMA.

  5. #5
    quiksilver's Avatar
    quiksilver no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    306DA124
    Posts
    6
    This is where I got confused. If the 9700 is not a CDMA phone, how is this being offered by Telus? Did they finally make the switch to GSM?

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Couldn't tell you that, quik. One thing you'll have to do in either case is get the phone unlocked.

  7. #7
    Seanmtx's Avatar
    Seanmtx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    47
    I can tell you that for Verizon both phones would work in the Czech Republic. As Roger mentioned, both have GSM capabilities (the Tour has both CDMA and GSM functionality) With Verzion (which I know you don't have), Vodaphone is the EU network that you would be accessing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •