Results 1 to 11 of 11

I have sprint curve right now but was offered a Verizon tour phone for cheap. ... BlackBerry Tour forum

  1. #1
    dropinoc's Avatar
    dropinoc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    313b4f38
    Posts
    16

    Can a Verizon tour phone by used on a Sprint Network?

    Advertisement



    I have sprint curve right now but was offered a Verizon tour phone for cheap. I wanted to know if I buy it can I use it with my current Sprint everything plan?

    If yes , do I have to do some re-programming?

    Thanks guys/girls

    PLease need to know asap

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I think the best sure way to find this out is talk to a Sprint representative and ask if they CAN set it up for you and then if they WILL set it up.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    petemoralez's Avatar
    petemoralez no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN/ID
    30B6A8D7
    Posts
    14
    Unlock the the VZW tour and use your Sprint SIM card on it
    BlackBerry9630/4.7.1.40 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    But to have full use of the phone, which is what I thought dropinoc meant, you need access to the CDMA part of it too, right? That's the main issue I'd want to verify. I don't know if that can be done or not.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    This article is over a year old, but could be relevant to the discussion.

  6. #6
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    This article is over a year old, but could be relevant to the discussion.
    That's good info, Roger, which leads me back to my 1st comment re: call the carrier and ask. Thanks for posting the info!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  7. #7
    sommacero's Avatar
    sommacero no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    the sim card is only for international use only, you couldnt use it here if you just swapped a sim card. sprint will not activate the phone unless it is in their system, verizon phone will not be- i have already tried something similar and was shot down after hours on the phone

  8. #8
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by sommacero View Post
    the sim card is only for international use only, you couldnt use it here if you just swapped a sim card. sprint will not activate the phone unless it is in their system, verizon phone will not be- i have already tried something similar and was shot down after hours on the phone
    Sommacero, Could you provide more details of what you have done and the results? It seems that if you are able to unlock the GSM side of the phone you would be able to use it on any GSM network the same as though it were a GSM phone. Are you saying that you have successfully unlocked the phone and been unable to use it on another GSM carrier's network or did you simply try to use it "locally" and it failed to work?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  9. #9
    james0116's Avatar
    james0116 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    You SHOULD be able to use a Verizon Tour on ANY of the major US carriers. It has both CDMA (Verizon and Sprint) and GSM (AT&T and T-Mobile) radios in it. The question is will Sprint activate a Verizon phone on their network. Probably not.

    Now the tricky part. I know that the GSM portion of the phone can be or is already unlocked (Tours from Sprint are coming already unlocked), what I'm not sure of is whether or not the CDMA portion of the phone has to be unlocked as well and if Verizon/Sprint will unlock it for you.

    As for AT&T and T-Mobile, its just a matter of verifying that the SIM Card slot is unlocked and popping one in. I believe AT&T and T-Mobile use different bands for their 3G network which means voice will work fine, but I think you'll get 3G speeds on AT&T but only EDGE speeds on T-Mobile (or visa versa).

    Sorry, long answer to your question. In short, you're better off just getting one directly from Sprint. Too much hassle to try and get one from another carrier switched over.

  10. #10
    cellfservices's Avatar
    cellfservices no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    Unfortunately, you will not be able to use the Verizon Tour on the Sprint network. Although the both run on the CDMA network, and the Tour does have both GSM and CDMA capabilities, it will not work. I will explain why

    Simple Facts:
    1.) Pure GSM phones can be used on any worldwide network after they are unlocked - depending on bands and frequencies, but since the Tour is a quad-band phone, it doesn't matter. Simply pop out the battery, and put your SIM card in.

    2.) CDMA phones need to be called in and activated on the CDMA network by using the "ESN" number.

    Why it won't work:

    With our 2 simple facts, I'll try to break this down. Since an unlocked GSM phone (ex. at&t 8310) can be taken to the T-mobile network or the Rogers network, you simply pop in the SIM card, and voila, it works! You never had to notify the carrier that you would be using a different service for this phone.

    Now with the Verizon tour on the Sprint network, which both use CDMA technology, you would have to call in to Sprint with your Verizon ESN number, and ask them to activate it. They will look up the ESN number and tell you..."we cannot activate your phone as it is not a Sprint phone".

    As someone mentioned above, the Sprint SIM cards are for international use only. The thing is, you'll save a lot more money by unlocking your Tour and purchasing a prepaid SIM card wherever you are, rather than paying ridiculous roaming fees.

    That's the true beauty of unlocking your phone.

    Hope this finds you well!
    Cellfservices - Cell Phone (GSM) Unlocking Solutions
    "The Roaming Specialists"
    http://www.cellfservices.com

  11. #11
    dropinoc's Avatar
    dropinoc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    313b4f38
    Posts
    16
    I found out it can be done but too much work and you needed added luck!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •