Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Originally Posted by cherrichiodo what are some advantages to having dual sims? I am currently ... Smartphone Reviews forum

  1. #16
    dgduffy's Avatar
    dgduffy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DBE5D5
    Posts
    16

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    what are some advantages to having dual sims?
    I am currently in France. I keep my TMO sim in my BB for email, but swap out the sim for a France Telecom 'pay as you go' sim when I am using the phone locally, which is obviously much cheaper.
    This device sounds as though it solves the problem elegantly.
    V useful for world travellers.

  2. #17
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    Attached some screenshots from the menu and switching.
    Note: don't worry about the time, it didn't take 2 min to swtich, it was me just beeing a slowpoke ;p

  3. #18
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    A little update, did a battery pull yesterday.

    Started up the phone again, and got Sim Card Rejected.

    After a lot of cleaning and improvised solutions, it still didn't want to work, so I gave up.

    Where just gonna do a normal shutdown of the phone (hold the disconnect button for 3-4sec).
    Power back up, and it works like a charm again.

    But chances are this will happend in the future.

    I noticed the problem was related to one of the simcards, so theres nothing wrong with the adapter, maybe I where to hard on cutting the edges, who knows..

    Anyway, its back up and running, hopefully i'll stay away from the battery pull.. he he.

  4. #19
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    Update again, did some phone reboots.

    It seems that if I do a full reset (battery pull) It will have to be followed by a "smal reset (on off button)", in order to read one of the sim cards.

    This is probably because of me cutting to much off the simcard.

  5. #20
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    You're a trooper Sci-Tek! After seeing the trouble one has to go through to make this dual SIM stuff work, the market place is definitely ready for this product commercially. I wonder if the providers are and whether they can prevent it from coming to users. I gonna say no - remember discovering (cell) signal jammers? They're illegal but they're sold (overseas) I guess. Somebody'll do it.

  6. #21
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    Thanks for the heads up jblackfish!

    in order to block it it will have to be programmed into the phone.. but then again the chineese creators will prolly find a workarround for it.

    I don't think this will bring any angry carriers, after all, you are their customer, you just dont dedicate yourself to them 100%.
    I would instanty drop the carrier if they reprogrammed all their new simcards in order to avoid this..

    But then again, which stupid carrier wants to send out millions of new sim cards inorder to block 10 modhappy users.. hehe

    Cell jammers where actually considered to be used in public in norway and sweden (for public transport if I'm not misstaken).. never heard anything more from those monkeys.
    Last edited by Sci-Tek; 01-15-2008 at 05:31 AM.

  7. #22
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    no errors latley.. works like a charm.. I make 5-6 switches a day.

  8. #23
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    still no issues with this. Loving it

  9. #24
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    Hmm, very interesting.

    Great write up, I just don't have any use to do so.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  10. #25
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Review: Dual sim card adapter

    its great if you have a work phone and don't want to carry two sims or travel a lot between two countries

  11. #26
    ze7's Avatar
    ze7
    ze7 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Sci-Tek View Post
    If you have two sim cards, in example: work and personal.

    Or: If you have two carriers, one which supports BB data plans and one which don't (this isn't that much needed in US because everybody supports it.. hehe, but in Norway only two small carriers support it).

    Maybe if your a real saver, you'll switch sim depending on prices

    my bb 8100 does not show an additional menu when i turn on the phone. tried everything. any sugestion ?
    tks

  12. #27
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849
    do you actually have a dual sim adapter?

  13. #28
    blackman711's Avatar
    blackman711 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    66
    Is there a compatible adapter for the 8320 that doesn't require the cutting?

  14. #29
    rajarajaraja's Avatar
    rajarajaraja no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    I have a 8320 with TMobile in the US and would like to use with Vodafone in Italy... does anyone know if it will work to avoid roaming and if it does work at all in the Curve (not Pearl)?

    Also, when I search on Ebay for Magicsim many options come up - which model number was used in this test?

    Thanks!

  15. #30
    col's Avatar
    col
    col no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Dual Sim Card Works Great on Blackberry 8820!

    Quote Originally Posted by Sci-Tek View Post

    It seems that if I do a full reset (battery pull) It will have to be followed by a "smal reset (on off button)", in order to read one of the sim cards.
    WORKS GREAT!!!

    I just got a MagicSim dual sim card from ebay as well for my BlackBerry 8820 and it works just as you described--like a charm, but periodically, if you do a hard reset by pulling out the battery, and then replace the battery to start up the handheld, it might not recognize the sim card. So you'll have follow that up with a soft reset by holding the power off button down and power it up again. Then it works great!

    One question for you, or any others who have used the dual sim card successfully: whenever connection between the two sim cards are switched (via auto-switch or manually switched) from my regular AT&T sim for my personal line (no BB email or data plan) to my AT&T sim for my BlackBerry work line (with BB email and data plan), I get an email From: "Blackberry", Subject: "Registration", Message: "Your handheld has been registered with the wireless network."

    It appears that each time the phone switches off and back to my work BB sim, it registers to the BB server and the carrier sends me the registration email to confirm that I'm back on the BB network. This is annoying, because I have set the auto-switch between the two sims for every 30 minutes, so in a 24 hour period, I get 48 (repeating) emails telling me that I've been registered!

    So the million dollar question is, how can I turn off/get rid/filter this annoying repeating email?!

    I've tried the email filter option in the BB setup, but that only filters email generated from/through my work server; it doesn't filter emails sent by the carrier (AT&T) BB server.

    Any help or insight by anyone who's familiar with this is much appreciated! Thanks!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •