I originally wrote this review and posted it on CNET near the end of May. ... Smartphone Reviews forum

rmerck no está en línea Device Pro

Thumbs up Review: BlackBerry 8330 Verizon Curve

Advertisement

I originally wrote this review and posted it on CNET near the end of May. I figured I'd post it here for anyone looking for another view of the Curve. It has since been changed to reflect my use in little ways, with my pros and cons. Enjoy!

Verdict
    I've always been the guy that wants a phone. A phone with no dings, bells, whistles whatever. I just want a contact list and a dial button. But realizing that the trend in phones and consumer products warrants that legends like the StarTac will never surface again, I must adapt and overcome.
    My needs for a phone over the years have changed as well. I'm a restaurant manager with a need for constant mobility to allow all kinds of data correspondence, yet I'm not able to commit my time to a desktop to get it done.
    Which brought me to the BlackBerry series. I've always kind of had a sense of contempt towards the BlackBerrys. I don't know why. I went to my Verizon Wireless store and started to seriously test these phones (within limits of being tethered to a booth of course).
    The Curve (as opposed to the World Editions, or Pearl) seemed the best option.
    My battery life is excellent right out of box, I did some additional tweaking such as the backlight timer, brightness etc and feel I get optimum battery performance. My BlackBerry routinely sees 2-3 days of regular texting, surfing, emailing and calling before requiring a charge (I'm not so good about putting it on the charger when I get home).
    Call quality is excellent as well. I frequently use the speakerphone to which a lot of people don't experience the talk back of a speakerphone and I've yet to receive any negative feedback about my end of the conversation.