First I must start off by saying that I'm completely new to BlackBerrys. I have ... Smartphone Reviews forum

wxboss no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    21DA38F3

Review: BB 8703e - A Burtally honest first impression

Advertisement

First I must start off by saying that I'm completely new to BlackBerrys. I have always used Palm or Windows Mobile based devices, so this is my first interaction with them.

Background: I activated a new line with Sprint almost a month ago. I bought a Samsung which fit my needs nicely. Since that time though, my work related requirements had started to skyrocket without any relief seen down the road. I was woefully in need of a PDA to help me keep track of everything. I was down to my last few days of my 30 day trial that would allow me to exchange a phone and I wanted the Q. They didn't have any in stock and wouldn't be getting any until my 30 day trial was over. The Treos were too expensive, so I went for the BB.

First impressions: I brought it home yesterday and I was intimidated by it at first. The supplied manual was just pathetic and it tought me almost nothing. Since I have a Mac, I couldn't use the CD that came with it which I believe would have given me some more information, so I was fumbling through a self-taught crash course on a BB and I was failing. A few hours after purchasing it, I was really regretting my choice, but I was stuck with it now (only one exchange allowed), and I was thinking of cancelling my account prior to the 30 day trial ended.

Moving on:
    I stumbled upon PocketMac syncmanager which made me feel a little better, then I found this forum and began to learn a few things, but I still wasn't sold. I got down to the nitty gritty. Checking out its features and performance, then checking for free apps - my disposition started to change.

Beginner's thoughts: I started finding out how to customize it (many options to look through), and I started testing it out. Here's what I've found: