Results 1 to 7 of 7

Was thinking I had read this someplace but don't know now where. But why is ... General Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    bmanley's Avatar
    bmanley no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    803

    SO why does 4g use more battery

    Advertisement



    Was thinking I had read this someplace but don't know now where. But why is it that when your on a 4g service area does battery life go down? It seems like if data is being transfered faster then the transmitter would not be on as much.
    #4407

  2. #2
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Not sure if that's true...it may be I just never heard it.

    #6391
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  3. #3
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    This isn't really an issue with newer devices.

  4. #4
    bmanley's Avatar
    bmanley no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    803
    SO why is it with older devises? When the 1020 I have now is seeing a 4g signal it makes my battery life suck. Now I don't see it switch to that all that often at home but when it does battery lifes goes down. Now I do understand when I have 4g the best I see is 2 bars

    #4407

  5. #5
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    4g usage was a pain. Newer radios and software have minimized the hit with LTE.

    I can't speak for window....but I used LTE with my S3 when I go to my mother a with little drain.

    #0310

  6. #6
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    LTE doesn't affect my phone at all. The problem is when the phone is searching for it when the best it can find is 3G. That's a rare occasion out here, thankfully.

  7. #7
    bmanley's Avatar
    bmanley no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    803
    I know with my 9900 I could lock it into 3g and that saved battery life. At home I have 3g but they are getting LTE in the next county. will have to see how it does once that is on full time. They had it on for a day or two and turned it back off
    #4407

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •