Results 1 to 6 of 6

I've seen multiple threads on here about removing RMS database. Is that my only option. ... General Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    jkannry's Avatar
    jkannry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    RMS Database Prevents backup Cruve 8830

    Advertisement



    I've seen multiple threads on here about removing RMS database. Is that my only option. it is very clear that is what is choking my backup. My alternative is to manually backup all files except RMS for every backup.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    The RMS database holds information on applications you've installed on your device for which you had to register. You don't have to remove the database, but you can clear it through the Advanced function in the Desktop Manager>Backup and Restore process.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    RMS Database also holds the data for aftermarket software. For example, if you have a non-Blackberry photo application (like Ascendo) that edits/stores pictures, those pictures are kept in RMS. So, if you clear it you're erasing the data for these types of programs, too. What I do is to go to advanced on the DM backup, then choose everything except RMS.

  4. #4
    jkannry's Avatar
    jkannry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    Erase RMS

    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    The RMS database holds information on applications you've installed on your device for which you had to register. You don't have to remove the database, but you can clear it through the Advanced function in the Desktop Manager>Backup and Restore process.
    This kind of avoids the question. Is erasing the RMS database worht the trouble. It seem slike from this thread and previous threads it ranges froma pain to painful??

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I can't say for sure how this will effect the device overall, but you should be prepared to reload your OS, just in case.

  6. #6
    jkannry's Avatar
    jkannry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16
    Weill interestingly enough I wa sno able to manually back up RMS which couldnt do before.

    I have two theories
    1.)Multiple reboots cleared out the problem
    2.)alarm software either webmessenger or todomatirx were generating alerts that were writing to RMS when I was synching. They aoccur frequently enough to overlap with synchronization. Would take hours of emailing and testing to prove but my successful backup was in an alarm free period. Only developers know if they use RMS

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •