Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25

Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 I hid the icon but why do I have the lock ... General Smartphones forum

  1. #16
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I hid the icon but why do I have the lock on the memory cleaning option in Security Options?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

    Well you said above something about an IT Policy. Either that BB was not new when you got it, or you've synced somewhere where an IT Policy BB was. That's strange, 'cause an IT policy shouldn't just show up.

  2. #17
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I see Secure GC Enabled under Options, Secure Options, General Settings. Also something about Encryption Key. This BlackBerry has never been on a BES and was bought brand new May 6, 2008.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    The only way to get the icon to stay is if you enable content protection. But that eats up more memory so kind of defeats the purpose...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    The Memory Cleaner on a BB is not for "memory cleaning" in the sense that most of us think of on a handheld. Its purpose is not to free up more memory for our use. Memory Cleaner is invoked when Content Protection is enabled, and its purpose is to erase sensitive data from specific areas (where that data would be easily available) in case a BlackBerry is stolen. Example: You have an important password stored in your password keeper. When it is only in Password Keeper, it is secure. However, let's say you need to send it to a friend via email, and you go in to your password keeper and perform a copy/paste to move it to the email - at that point it is in your BBs memory (the Clipboard) and unprotected. Memory Cleaner cleans sensitive info that is inadvertantly left in accessible areas of memory. It's only a security ap, and is not designed to free up memory for use.


    If you're a personal user (Erica), I wouldn't worry about it - it's pretty much irrelevant whether it is on or off. Yours stays on because of an IT policy (Go to Options>Security>Advanced Options and see if there is an IT policy at the bottom of the screen). However, on President Obama's BB, or on one in use by the CIA, or a unit in use by a corporate executive, it needs to be left on.

    And no, it does not protect your porn from being discovered by your wife - - :d

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I see Secure GC Enabled under Options, Secure Options, General Settings. Also something about Encryption Key. This BlackBerry has never been on a BES and was bought brand new May 6, 2008.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Sometimes IT policies are added by service providers, especially on a WiFi device like your 8120. For example, T-Mobile sometimes IT policies their Berrys so that WiFi can only be used if you buy their data plan. As WiFi networks proliferate, data plans for personal users are becoming less important cuz you can get to the internet and email easily almost anywhere for free. T-Mobile needs the data-plan cash, hence IT policy.

  5. #20
    camshafter's Avatar
    camshafter no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    341
    ok, just what i was looking for..thanks TONS

    camshafter

  6. #21
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I had the HotSpot@Home service on it for a few months and then took it off because it started dropping the connection.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #22
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Problem solved. While installing some games via DM, I had the lock next to Memory Cleaning removed finally. I can finally disable the Memory Cleaning until I want to use it.


  8. #23
    taykhbb's Avatar
    taykhbb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    13
    After selecting show all from the application folder, I still could'nt find the memory cleaning icon for my Bold.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by taykhbb View Post
    After selecting show all from the application folder, I still could'nt find the memory cleaning icon for my Bold.
    You'll need to enable Content Protection from your Security area in order for it to be available.

  10. #25
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    And then pray your blackberry messenger doesn't think you've changed devices and asks you if you want to notify all your contacts or they will be erased. That happens to me every time I enable content protection.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 06-06-2009 at 12:38 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •