Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

I have got Blackberry broswer without subscribing Data plan and able to surf wap browser ... General Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    Reesh's Avatar
    Reesh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question Browsing web without data plans

    Advertisement



    I have got Blackberry broswer without subscribing Data plan and able to surf wap browser successfully.

    But how do i access Application viz Facebook, Y! msngr etc.?

    Any help on this.

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    What kind of device are you using? Who is your carrier?

    Are you accessing via wi-fi or some other way. If you don't have wi-fi for access you're most likely in for some data charges in your future invoices from your carrier. FYI you won't have access to BB Messenger without a Blackberry plan.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    Reesh's Avatar
    Reesh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    I am using Blackberry Pearl.

    Carrier is Vodafone India.

    I have downloaded Internet Browser in my Blackberry Pearl sucessfully without activating Data services of Blackberry!

    I am using Internet browser with default Vodafone live service but when trying to access Yahoo Messenger, Face book etc it won't allow me to access it.

    Any one have trick with the help of which these applications can be accessible without subscribing to Blackberry data plans?

    Tricks are always welcome!!!

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Which Pearl? Does it have wi-fi and could you be using that to access the internet? Facebook won't work on wi-fi without a data plan. Let us know more facts - specfic device, etc. - and we'll see if we can get you more specific answers.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    bofeity's Avatar
    bofeity no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    101
    Actually he's right, you can or rather could get free internet from Tmobile.

  6. #6
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    If you're referring to the trick of getting the $5.99 plan and changing the TCP settings of the phone, it won't work on a BB. I'm inclined to agree with JB that he's accessing it over Wi-Fi.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    Dwaine12's Avatar
    Dwaine12 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Good Try
    Posts
    443

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by MStrawder View Post
    If you're referring to the trick of getting the $5.99 plan and changing the TCP settings of the phone, it won't work on a BB. I'm inclined to agree with JB that he's accessing it over Wi-Fi.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    you could be right, he's accessing a WI-FI network and doesn't even know it i wondering if his pearl is wifi and does he see it connect, i deal with stuff like this all day at work, and if he's not on a wifi network , man i feel sorry for the charges he will incure on his bill....lets hope its some kind of device glich though...

  8. #8
    Charlie Hustle's Avatar
    Charlie Hustle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    skdck
    Posts
    537
    The trick is gonna be when he get that next bill if that pearl doesnt have wifi.
    I would like to be a fly on the wall when he open that envelope.

  9. #9
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Hustle View Post
    The trick is gonna be when he get that next bill if that pearl doesnt have wifi.
    I would like to be a fly on the wall when he open that envelope.
    OUCH! I hope we get his answer in time to save him some Rupees if that's the case!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #10
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Yeah! That could get very expensive. I believe that the 8120 is the only Pearl with WiFi. Unless one of the flipberries, like the 8220, has it.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    Charlie Hustle's Avatar
    Charlie Hustle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    skdck
    Posts
    537
    or find a couple of triforces to sell, or go defeat ganon.

  12. #12
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    The 8120 Pearl, 8220 Pearl Flip and 8320 Curve all have Wifi.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Funny though - Reesh never specifically said which device he has. We're assuming it's not the 8320 since he said it's a Pearl.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  14. #14
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    Funny though - Reesh never specifically said which device he has. We're assuming it's not the 8320 since he said it's a Pearl.
    Yeah and I'm willing to be he's either surfing over Wi-Fi or is about to get one nasty bill from his carrier. I have always thought that to be a bad business practice with carriers. If you don't have the data plan, it shouldn't allow you to access data features and then smack you with a bill. My wife's 8120 won't browse anything outside of T-Mobile's site and 3rd party apps requiring a data plan. It automatically redirects me to the page to signup for a data plan.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  15. #15
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by MStrawder View Post
    ............. My wife's 8120 won't browse anything outside of T-Mobile's site and 3rd party apps requiring a data plan. It automatically redirects me to the page to signup for a data plan.
    I had an 8120 for a while (no data plan) and I could do a ton of stuff via wi-fi, basically the same as with my 8320 and my current 8900, all without data plans - all T-Mobile too.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •