Please forgive me if this is simple but I have spent the last couple hours ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

fosterius no está en línea Stack level 1

Vodacom in Tanzania

Advertisement

Please forgive me if this is simple but I have spent the last couple hours searching all over the web for a solution but so far no luck. I live and work in Tanzania and I just got a BlackBerry Pearl 8100. I've never had one before so I'm a hardcore NOOB. I purchased an unlock code and my BlackBerry is now on my post-paid Vodacom account here and is working great.

Problem is, I can't enable internet on the phone. Generally, you go to Vodacom's website, enter in your phone number, choose your phone model, press send, and presto... in a few seconds you get an SMS containing all the configuration settings that you just save on your phone. Unfortunately though, it turns out BlackBerry is not on the list. Instead, I am given the following 'generic' settings:

Access point name: WAP
    Username:
    Password:
    Account name: Vodacom WAP
    Proxy server address: 10.154.000.008
    Proxy server port: 9401

I have no clue how or where to enter this information into the phone. Nor do i know what BES, BIS, or what a Service Book is. I just want this to work like my old stoopid NOKIA did. i really thought I was upgrading here but man am I stumped. I would be thrilled for someone to call me an idiot if I have totally missed something completely simple and basic so bring it on...

Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask

Re: Vodacom in Tanzania

Normally, you need to contact your carrier and request that they provision your account with a blackberry data plan. Your carrier must have an agreement with RIM to provide Blackberry service. I assume that your carrier is a subidary of Vodaphone so the should have blackberry service.

Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device