Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hiya, I've got a Pearl 8100 locked to orange UK (so no blackberry website for ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

  1. #1
    Mighty Gof's Avatar
    Mighty Gof no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    Advertisement



    Hiya,

    I've got a Pearl 8100 locked to orange UK (so no blackberry website for me)!

    I tried to install Opera mini but it tries all these tests and doesnt manage to connect. Anyoen on Orange figured out how to do this?

    Cheers

    Pete

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    Do you have a BIS and data plan from Orange?

    See this page:
    http://www.operamini.com/help/connect/

  3. #3
    Mighty Gof's Avatar
    Mighty Gof no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    Yup - got a data plan - I'm on a business account.

    I use it to check email and surf the net usin the dreadful orangeworld browser!

  4. #4
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    I am on 02 UK and although they say they do not support opera mini it will work if you download it and enter the correct APN settings for Orange !!

    I also have BB browser, but I had to ask o2 technical support to add it.

  5. #5
    Eth's Avatar
    Eth
    Eth no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    I'm in the same boat as Mighty Gof here ... can't run anything that needs Blackberry Browser and can't install Opera. Ideally I want to run all 3, BB, Orangeworld and Opera and choose myself which one to use. Why do all phone companies have to act like arses ... it just pisses people off. If orange provide a good service people will come back for more. This rationale seems to be lost on them

  6. #6
    alfonzo88hundre's Avatar
    alfonzo88hundre no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    Yeah Service providers do like to act like children and not let you touch there toys with out there say so.

    But you can instal opera or minimo or any other browser you just need to check the APN settings as previously stated

    I even had a comment from one of the guys on the help lines saying id get charged more for using a non Service provider browser, Why ? because i can acctually access pages and sites i want to ?

  7. #7
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    Be carefull with APN as I am in Ireland using 02 and used opera for 3 weeks and then found out it had cost me Ł100. I have a data plan but only through the bb browser. Opera uses a different connection and I was paying through the nose for it. Fighting with them for a credit on this.
    So check with your carrier before you enter the APN settings.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    liamski's Avatar
    liamski no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    AW: Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    Quote Originally Posted by vince1 View Post
    Be carefull with APN as I am in Ireland using 02 and used opera for 3 weeks and then found out it had cost me Ł100. I have a data plan but only through the bb browser. Opera uses a different connection and I was paying through the nose for it. Fighting with them for a credit on this.
    So check with your carrier before you enter the APN settings.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    This is a real pain in the arse

    I've just got an 8320 on Orange, and now I find I cant use Opera unless I pay extra for non-blackberry data

    I should have gone with O2 or TMobile with their more generous and flexible data packages


  9. #9
    Worm's Avatar
    Worm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to set up Opera on Orange Blackberry UK

    I can't speak for Orange but what you are paying for is blackberry service, that is, connection to RIM and a BIS account, typically you'll also get 5-6MB of "blackberry" data usage with a BIS package.

    You have basically leased part of a pipe to RIM. Using a browser(or any app) which is connecting to things way outside this pipe, hence having to enter APN settings for TCP, will be charged for (will just be normal carrier rates generally).

    I would take this as red unless explicitly stated otherwise e.g bundles.

    cheers

    Worm

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •