Results 1 to 12 of 12

Sup yall i'm new here. Just picked up an unlocked bb 7100g...but the browser dont ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

  1. #1
    daeshawn's Avatar
    daeshawn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    How Do I Work A BB Browser With FIDO

    Advertisement



    Sup yall i'm new here. Just picked up an unlocked bb 7100g...but the browser dont work with fido although i do have browser service..someone help pls .lol

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    daeshawn, Welcome to PinStack.

    I didn't think that Fido supported Blackberry Data Plans. Is this something new?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #3
    daeshawn's Avatar
    daeshawn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    I dont know but i found this site here webclient.blackberry.net/WebMail/Window.jsp?site=fido&locale=en . that looks like they might. I guess i'll call them in the morning. Oh yeah thanks for the quick reply..I love this site it's helped me with a lot of thing i didnt even know bb's can do

  4. #4
    daeshawn's Avatar
    daeshawn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    Hey i actually found this letter in regards to FIDO blackberry service as it pertains to the ROGERS monopoly petitiononline.com/rogersbb/petition.html

  5. #5
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Daeshawn:

    Sorry to inform you, but Fido does not support BlackBerry, and likely never will.

    That BIS entry page branded as Fido is supplied by RIM, not Fido or even Rogers. Sure, you may be able to set up an account and register your PIN, but you'll never get the service books because (not trying to be redundant) Fido doesn't support BlackBerry.

    And when it comes to that, there is just normal "data", which works with just about any device, except for BlackBerry. With BlackBerry, you need the BlackBerry Data Plan; which Fido doesn't sell.

    But you can still use that 7100g for voice/SMS/MMS.

  6. #6
    daeshawn's Avatar
    daeshawn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    Thx i'm switchin to rogers anyways lol but yall are very helpful and timely i love it.thx

  7. #7
    bb100's Avatar
    bb100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    I recently purchased an unlocked BB 7105t and am using it with Fido. I downloaded the Opera browser and I am able to browse the Internet. However, if I try to download a ringtone or an application, Opera tries to exit to the WAP browser and I get the message "Your device does not currently have any Browser Configuration Service Book Entries. Please contact your service provider to enable the Browser on your device."
    Is it not possible to use the same service as provided to Fido supplied phones? It is my understanding that most of them can download ringtones, etc without needing the Blackberry Internet Service.

  8. #8
    corean80's Avatar
    corean80 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20505e5c
    Posts
    21

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    u have to get the fido BB connect plan to use the browser otherwise u canT~~.........i am using unlocked rogers pearl on fido.....WORKS REALLY GOOD.....but kinda expensive

  9. #9
    mtlfido's Avatar
    mtlfido no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    i have unlocked my 8700r and do not know what to do next to get my emails on it please help

  10. #10
    JoshKingston's Avatar
    JoshKingston no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    66

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You need blackberry connect data plan from fido.
    It uses a lot more data because there is no compression like on the rest of blackberry plans.
    Its mostly designed for their nokia e62 with the BB client

  11. #11
    gmoney99's Avatar
    gmoney99 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: HOW DO I WORK A BB BROWSER WITH FIDO

    Mine worked perfectly after getting the BB Connect on Fido.

  12. #12
    jnery's Avatar
    jnery no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    actually i got my gfs phone to connect to the net on her pearl tho

    all i did was dl opera mini on her phone

    and apn username "internet.fido.ca"
    passowrd was "fido"

    and full restart as in battery pull

    and it works.

    although she is running on a pay as you go format so it kinda eats up her mins

    but nonetheless it works!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •