Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Ok, I thought I saw this somewhere before, but I am unable to find the ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

  1. #1
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    Advertisement



    Ok, I thought I saw this somewhere before, but I am unable to find the link...

    Someone has pinned me and asked if their friend can get data on their Boost Prepaid Blackberry. I saw the answer here once, but the search didn't find it, and in all honesty I never paid attention before because I don't use Boost (Sorry). So anyone able to give me the answer again please?

  2. #2
    ENY428's Avatar
    ENY428 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    40143288
    Posts
    774

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    BOOST has BB's Now? I wonder how that'll work? You have to pay for everything with BOOST?

  3. #3
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    Apparently? Maybe? I dunno to be quite honest with you...

    My guess would be probably getting an unlocked Blackberry and getting it activated on the Boost network...My best educated guess is that Boost doesn't support the Blackberry Internet Service, so it's just only going to be able to function as a phone...I could be wrong though.

  4. #4
    ENY428's Avatar
    ENY428 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    40143288
    Posts
    774

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    I would assume the same. Only D/C and phone. No data though.

  5. #5
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    You can't get data on a pre-paid...

  6. #6
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    Thanks Doobs,

    Thats what I figured, but didn't want to say one way or another until I knew the exact/correct answer.

  7. #7
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ead.php?t=4433

    According to this post, someone is able to get data on boost

  8. #8
    cornelius's Avatar
    cornelius no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2035BC65
    Posts
    23

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    you can take any nextel phone and switch it over to boost mobile.its probuly runs off the same network, one just prepaid.you can take almost any boost mobile phone and install opera mini browser. can you activate a blackberry on boost mobile? yeah, if its a nextel bb. can you get data? yeah, thru a third party browser. that means no wap browser. no email. maybe that the reason nextel wouldn't let you buy a blackberry without a data plan. thank god i'm with cingular.

  9. #9
    Superiorcnt's Avatar
    Superiorcnt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    4017F950
    Posts
    216

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    Yea you can just buy a bb phone on ebay and pop a boost sim in there..but all the function won't b there cause the card is not strong enough to hold all the info. I know this cause my friend is in the same situation he has the bb just for the chrip and uses his other phone for the main contact

  10. #10
    tntheat05's Avatar
    tntheat05 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E0BD33
    Posts
    52

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    I got a BB 7100i on a boost premium plan, i get free web,free chrip,free night&weekends starting at 7:00pm,free text and 400 mins all for $49.99 a month,but you only can access the web through a third party browser like Opera etc.I also would recieve text message no emails though,for my emails i created a Gmail account and installed Gmail mobile software,then forward my yahoo & hotmail emails to that account and i would get alerted when i had new mail and i would open up gmail mobile and all my mail would be right there.At one point i was able to to do OTA downloads but when sprint/nextel upgraded there system it stop working i lost the service book.If you go to nextel's site create a mynextel account and register your boost simcard you'll be able to see the details of your boost account and you'll see that a data package is included.
    Respect The Code:Loyalty 4 Life

  11. #11
    Dirty Cash's Avatar
    Dirty Cash no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3G
    Posts
    1,566

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    This would have to be terribly expensive! You'd eat up your "minutes" daily while using the daysplan... Just doesn't seem feasible to me!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    mrnoname's Avatar
    mrnoname no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,805

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I don't believe its a true data package. If it were, you would have your email come directly to your Blackberry. Also you would have a Blackberry browser that you could surf the web with. And you would be able to install OTA.

    Just my .02 cents.

  13. #13
    tntheat05's Avatar
    tntheat05 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E0BD33
    Posts
    52

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    Quote Originally Posted by johnj41
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I don't believe its a true data package. If it were, you would have your email come directly to your Blackberry. Also you would have a Blackberry browser that you could surf the web with. And you would be able to install OTA.

    Just my .02 cents.
    I was able to do OTA,i did have the blackberry browser but like i said they upgraded there system and after that the OTA stop working.Only thing i never had was push email,and i dont think i could have ever got push email on a BB with boost,there systems dont support BB device so how would i get push email but most of the other stuff are possibly to get.
    Respect The Code:Loyalty 4 Life

  14. #14
    tntheat05's Avatar
    tntheat05 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E0BD33
    Posts
    52

    Re: Data on a PrePaid BOOST?

    Quote Originally Posted by UH8ME
    This would have to be terribly expensive! You'd eat up your "minutes" daily while using the daysplan... Just doesn't seem feasible to me!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    You dont use any of your minutes at all with the boost premium plan anything having to do with data is free.Trust me i've been using the blackberry on boost for almost a year now.Its freaking great i tell you!!!!!!!!!!
    Respect The Code:Loyalty 4 Life

  15. #15
    HeywoodJ's Avatar
    HeywoodJ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    pm me
    Posts
    280
    I too asked that of boost they sent me to tier two suport who said It would be possible BUT I needed a sim so I bought a i205 and activated as told and then swaped the sim and no blackberry service witch is a billable service you need a blackberry data plan to use a blackberry and you then need to contract to nextel for this to work otherwise you only get voice I tryed this after mutch research and you cant get a pay service without paying so call nextel they will set your account up over the phone and port the boost sim to nextel I have goten data conection to a prepaid before but it was vzw. so call nextel up and the most the deposit can be is a $100.00

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •