Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 72

Sory i took so long to answer back. Thank you Rcbjr... C Spire/Cellular South forum

  1. #16
    Browneyess's Avatar
    Browneyess no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Advertisement



    Sory i took so long to answer back. Thank you Rcbjr

  2. #17
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    No Problem.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #18
    millerbr's Avatar
    millerbr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    I have an 8700c with Cingular. I found where the APN is, but theres no APN listed. Is there a standard APN for cingular? Reading the posts it seems like tmobile uses wap.voicestream.com. Thanks.

  4. #19
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Quote Originally Posted by millerbr
    I have an 8700c with Cingular. I found where the APN is, but theres no APN listed. Is there a standard APN for cingular? Reading the posts it seems like tmobile uses wap.voicestream.com. Thanks.
    APN: wap.cingular
    user name for APN: WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    Password: CINGULAR1

  5. #20
    millerbr's Avatar
    millerbr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Thanks alot. Now I just have to find my ISP...

  6. #21
    millerbr's Avatar
    millerbr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Great guide. Im connected. One last question - Im using EDGE with Cingular 8700c. Will I get faster speeds with the tethered USB connection or should I connect through Bluetooth? Getting 115 kbps with USB connection...

  7. #22
    BlackDog_UK's Avatar
    BlackDog_UK no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24FCE3C2
    Posts
    2

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Many thanks from this newbie for that useful guide

  8. #23
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    BlackDog_UK, Welcome to PinStack. and millerbr, a belated welcome to you.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  9. #24
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    i'm new to blackberry AND new to pinstack -- this place is great for a new guy! i just bought my pearl yesterday and am trying to figure it ALL out. (i'm coming from a sidekick II - so its kind of a big change)

    but - i'm not connected yet...

    i was under the impression that you would want to tether your blackberry if you didn't have internet nearby - why do you need information from your internet service provider??

    i set up my APN and since my pearl didn't list one - i assumed tmobile uses "wap.voicestream.com" - correct??

    when i was configuring the dial-up networking, i didn't know the username/password, so i left it blank (some users said it worked without using them). also, wherever i will need to tether it, i won't have internet, so what internet service provider do i contact to find this information, if i will be moving from location to location...?? i used *99# as the number.

    when i try to connect, it automatically just puts my XP login name as the login name and leaves the password blank (???) and i get an error after it says "registering your computer on the network" (Error 734: The PPP link control protocol was terminated.)

    i'm obviously doing something wrong - and it could be the username/password or something else....can anyone please help??

    THANKS!!!!

  10. #25
    maskands's Avatar
    maskands no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    HI,
    I follow all the instructions but when I try to dial I am getting error message,
    " Error 692: There was a hardware failure in the modem (or other connecting device) ".
    Is there anyone can help me out to resolve this error.
    Thanks.

  11. #26
    GHStinson's Avatar
    GHStinson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    I finally succeeded connecting to Cincinnati Bell yesterday. I posted a message but haven't seen it appear.

    If you have already tried without success, it's probably better to clean out everything and start over. Remove all Blackberry software. Remove any modems, COM ports, and USB connections that were installed by Blackberry software or that you installed yourself. Run regedit to search for and remove any references to Blackberry.

    First, you have to call a Cincinnati Bell Wireless customer rep and have the tethering option turned on for about $20 per month.

    If you don't have Desktop Manager 4.1, download it from the Cincinnati Bell website. When you install it, it should create a USB connection and a standard modem and it's associated COM port.

    Open the Phone and Modem Options window on the Control Panel. Select the standard modem that was created by the Desktop Manager and click the Properties button. In the window that opens, click the Advanced tab. Make sure the Extra initialization commands box contains +cgdcont=1,"IP","web.gocbw.com", including the quotes.

    Go to the Network Connections page and create a new dial-up connection using the standard modem. Leave the User name and Password blank. Check the Save this user name... box and select appropriate option for your situation. Finally, put *99# in the phone number box.

    Click Dial and you should connect at 100-150 Kbps.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by GHStinson; 01-15-2007 at 06:33 PM.

  12. #27
    julieedwards's Avatar
    julieedwards no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    1234
    Posts
    2

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    hi Rcbjr, i would like to know where can i get the DM 4.1 to download. please

  13. #28
    GHStinson's Avatar
    GHStinson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Julie,

    Who is your service provider? Desktop Manager can vary between service providers. You should be able to get it from your SP's website. I can give you a link or email you the one for Cincinnati Bell, but I'm not sure it will work for your SP.

    George

  14. #29
    evega0's Avatar
    evega0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    20524a90
    Posts
    3

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Mocoso plus, no puedo conectar mi 8700g con telcel, intente como dice aqui y con el numero que tu me dices y no puedo, me sale un mensaje en el BB que dice "unknown application".
    Gracias por tu ayuda
    Evega

  15. #30
    evega0's Avatar
    evega0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    20524a90
    Posts
    3

    Re: How To: Connect a PC to the Internet using a GPRS or EDGE Blackberry as modem

    Finally!!I did setup my BB as modem for my laptop, my carrier is TELCEL in Mexico, can somebody tell me if i will be receiving an extra charge for that?
    I am assuming that i will not, ...but who knows!! I appreciate your comments.
    Evega

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •