Page 39 of 71 FirstFirst ... 3435363738394041424344 ... LastLast
Results 571 to 585 of 1051

Are you using the Sence or did you turn it off like Marshall metioned? That ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

  1. #571
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194

    Advertisement



    Are you using the Sence or did you turn it off like Marshall metioned? That could possibly be the culprit of your 55% battery usage.
    because we are amorphous, we hold that in reverence~ Tite Kubo

  2. #572
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    my battery life after removing sence went up alot. The battery will still show its using the most though. Make sure gps and wifi are OFF. no need for it to be on all day unleass you actually do for some reason.
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  3. #573
    mrholder's Avatar
    mrholder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    433
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    Are you using the Sence or did you turn it off like Marshall metioned? That could possibly be the culprit of your 55% battery usage.
    Quote Originally Posted by pmarshall View Post
    my battery life after removing sence went up alot. The battery will still show its using the most though. Make sure gps and wifi are OFF. no need for it to be on all day unleass you actually do for some reason.
    I've been trying it with both the Sense UI and without. I'm about to totally abandon Sense, lol. Just network GPS has been on, but I'm about to turn that off as well unless I need it. I synced the battery friday night using Geetarman's steps and got really good battery life Saturday. Wasn't even down halfway at the end of the day after taking a few pictures/videos and trying the GPS on the way back from Gulf Shores. It did sit on standby most of the day however, but Sense was on.

    I've just downloaded a couple of apps this morning and it dropped the battery by 25% at least. I've noticed that the market really seems to zap battery.

    Anyway, just my observations, and thanks for the tips. I'm done with Sense and auto syncing, lol. The newness has worn off, so I'm sure the battery will settle down now.

  4. #574
    jbreakfield's Avatar
    jbreakfield no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by mrholder View Post
    I've been trying it with both the Sense UI and without. I'm about to totally abandon Sense, lol. Just network GPS has been on, but I'm about to turn that off as well unless I need it. I synced the battery friday night using Geetarman's steps and got really good battery life Saturday. Wasn't even down halfway at the end of the day after taking a few pictures/videos and trying the GPS on the way back from Gulf Shores. It did sit on standby most of the day however, but Sense was on.

    I've just downloaded a couple of apps this morning and it dropped the battery by 25% at least. I've noticed that the market really seems to zap battery.

    Anyway, just my observations, and thanks for the tips. I'm done with Sense and auto syncing, lol. The newness has worn off, so I'm sure the battery will settle down now.
    LaucherPro Plus is a great replacement... if you haven't tried it out, give it a shot.

  5. #575
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    launcher pro still gulps batt life...best way it to NOT use a task manager or killer of any sort..turn off wifi, gps (location is ok to have on).
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  6. #576
    albrownlee89's Avatar
    albrownlee89 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    64
    ok pmmarshall, my blackberry flip bit the dust, do i still get the trade in credit even if my phone doesnt work??

  7. #577
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    albrown..yes
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  8. #578
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    Ok, for all the galaxy waiters in here and for those concerned on why our galaxy has less mem than gsm ones. Here is an explination.
    Look at the picture and it says 512mb flash/384mb RAM. Compare that to explanations of RAM for other phone products. That’s 512mb flash RAM with 128 used by…VIDEO. Every computer without a dedicated video card says the same thing. Go look up video cards with dedicated memory and video cards with shared memory. Obviously Sammy’s video cpu uses 128k or RAM and they bundle that with the actual RAM of 384 to say 512. But all Galaxy S have only 384k of Ram to use. So basically it has the same..gsm versions just add the 2 pieces together and cdma does not.
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  9. #579
    kylemcdonald87's Avatar
    kylemcdonald87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    376
    Marshall, not to confuse everyone its 384MB of RAM not 384k

  10. #580
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    it is what was on the article...sorry guys...the author had a typo.
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  11. #581
    kylemcdonald87's Avatar
    kylemcdonald87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    376
    All these non techy ppl that try to explain stuff... :P

  12. #582
    pmarshall's Avatar
    pmarshall no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3,085
    Hes actually a programmer haha. But its a good explanation though.
    HAHA HERO, MY TOUCH

  13. #583
    jbreakfield's Avatar
    jbreakfield no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by pmarshall View Post
    Hes actually a programmer haha. But its a good explanation though.
    Yes, very good explanation, thanks!

  14. #584
    DarkDreg's Avatar
    DarkDreg no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by pmarshall View Post
    All is good thanks to the help from Geeter. There arent any ROMS for our desire yet...everything was great until i got brave and tried to load a ROM haha. It was stuck on boot screen. Root works though and can load Root apps so go for it.
    i did the same thing last night and thought i bricked it. I had to go figure out this adb shell push & flash_image thingy and i finally got it back to booting up.
    I did get root access and s-off though.
    I think ill wait to do anything else as far as roms go.
    The WHOLE reason i want root was I was trying to find a good wireless tether program that actually worked now that i got root. a few i tried just didnt work

  15. #585
    mclovin07's Avatar
    mclovin07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    146
    Ok, for all the galaxy waiters in here and for those concerned on why our galaxy has less mem than gsm ones. Here is an explination.
    Look at the picture and it says 512mb flash/384mb RAM. Compare that to explanations of RAM for other phone products. That’s 512mb flash RAM with 128 used by…VIDEO. Every computer without a dedicated video card says the same thing. Go look up video cards with dedicated memory and video cards with shared memory. Obviously Sammy’s video cpu uses 128k or RAM and they bundle that with the actual RAM of 384 to say 512. But all Galaxy S have only 384k of Ram to use. So basically it has the same..gsm versions just add the 2 pieces together and cdma does not.
    Thank you PM I was one of the many ppl who were wondering that. I was also wanting to know If you figured out as to why the galaxy on verizon is slow compared to others, and do you know if this will be fixed on the CS galaxy. If you are ableto tell us that is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •