Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hello, I'm new to the forum, i've tried looking for similar posts but I'm not ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

  1. #1
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Blackberry on Norwegian carriers

    Advertisement



    Hello,

    I'm new to the forum, i've tried looking for similar posts but I'm not able to find any.

    Just before the end of last year I bought a 8100 pearl with Trigcom carrier.
    Now, they don't have any operator lock on their phones. So I placed my Telenor SIM card in the phone and booted up.

    After a little tuning i'm getting EDGE and internet connection (got IM+ and Opera to work), but no BIS connection. OFC that is because settings are for Trigcom and stored on the sim card.

    Do anyone know if telenor has any settings for BIS (I know telenor sweden has).
    Tried to register device, but I guess that light at the end of the tunell was a train.

    I also got a problem with MMS, guess I need a service record sent (as no MMS service record missing message appears when I'm trying to send MMS).
    However, telenor have no settings for blackberry phones.
    Their support don't even know what blackberry is.. welcome to the land of the stupid..

    For those of you who need the edge access, go to: options -> advanced -> TCP
    APN: internet , (for netcom users I believe: internet.netcom.no)
    username for APN: <blank>
    password for APN: <blank>


    So what I want to know is if there are some fellow norwegians here that can provide me with some information / tips using blackberry on Telenor.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Sci-Tek's Avatar
    Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    849

    Re: Blackberry on Norwegian carriers

    Just as an update to those of you who in the future will have issues with this.. maybe on vacation to norway or whatever.. hehe

    Telenor settings:
    APN: telenor
    APN username: yourcellphonenumber
    APN pass: yourcellphonenumber

    Theres no way to get MMS to work on telenor, and theres also no way to get a blackberry data plan.
    Pretty simle..

    Only carrier in norway which support blackberry data plan is trigcom.

    So if your really into having telenor, you'll need a dual sim adapter.. which on the other hand i'm guessing is lottery if works or not

  3. #3
    H4nsen's Avatar
    H4nsen no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Hi!

    Does this still work?

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by H4nsen View Post
    Hi!

    Does this still work?
    Howdy! Did you try the settings? Let us know!

  5. #5
    H4nsen's Avatar
    H4nsen no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by RogerG View Post
    Howdy! Did you try the settings? Let us know!
    Still waiting for my BB, but I'll let you know

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Well look forward to it!

  7. #7
    H4nsen's Avatar
    H4nsen no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Hi!

    Got my BB Bold 9700 I while back and I have to say I was a bit skeptical buying it..


    Followed the instructions and it works great,even the MMS is fully functional (sends and receives)! I'm using a Telenor plan so I was a bit surprised.. just followed sci-tek's instructions, no more.

    So i'm more than satisfied Thanks for the great help!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •