Hi all, im evaluating a discounted BB 8700 plan by TIM (ITALY), but im new ... C Spire/Cellular South forum

Ecio no está en línea Stack level 1

Blackberry APN, how does it work?

Hi all,
    im evaluating a discounted BB 8700 plan by TIM (ITALY), but im new to BlackBerry and i dont know too much how all this stuff works.
    I hope some of you can help me understand this...

The plan is composed of three parts:

a) "BlackBerry Easy Mail": Fee 10 (ten) euro/month
    This plan includes unlimited email traffic to the APN. This plan does not includes traffic through other APNs (WAP.TIM, etc...)

b) "Free Internet" Option: Fee 0 (zero) euro/month
    unlimited internet traffic through BB APN -> included in the monthly fee
    internet traffic through other APNs -> calculated on the user profile fare

c) BB 8700 rent: Fee 0E/month 0 (zero) euro/month

My questions/thoughts:
    1) The email traffic [a] is the one i generate to/from the BIS (no BES available for me). So i suppose I cant *directly* use other pop3/imap account (i must do BIS check'em for me or i should fwd all the mail the the BIS account), right?

2) How does the BB deal with internet traffic? I've read some post about TCP options (in order to use sw like chat,vnc,ssh etc..) but, if i've understood correctly, they talk about using the WAP APN, so i suppose that with option [b] I can only navigate with the integrated browser and i cant do anything like these for free... Am i right? :cry:

3) (if im right on the point 2) i suppose using BB as a tethered modem is not free too :/

4) Is BB's Google Talk support usable with [b] Option (so inside APN) or is it WAP-traffic related too?

PS more technically (if someone knows/wants to talk about it) when u are inside the BB APN u get an internal ip? do they limit the traffic by passing through a proxy (and stop other tcp ports) or whatelse?. Is there any info available about it?

hayden no está en línea Stack Mod

Re: Blackberry APN, how does it work?