Results 1 to 12 of 12

I installed BB messenger from the URL in the Useful link above (can't post a ... Networking with PinStackers forum

  1. #1
    YMark's Avatar
    YMark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99

    Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    Advertisement



    I installed BB messenger from the URL in the Useful link above (can't post a link) I did this with my 8100 connected to my PC. After it loaded and my BB rebooted, I can't find the icon anywhere. If I use desktop manager to look at my applications, BB messenger shows up. I just don't have an icon on my BB. Anyone else have this issue?

  2. #2
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    Make sure it wasn't hidden by chance...

    Should look like a blue "word bubble" like they use in cartoons.

  3. #3
    YMark's Avatar
    YMark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    It isn't hidden. No icon. I'm stumped. Installed it 3 different times.

  4. #4
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    Hmm....WELLL....

    Lets see...You could uninstall it, delete the modules out to make sure that its completely uninstalled and then try and reinstall it.

    BTW, didn't BB messenger come preinstalled on your 8100 anyways? It did on mine?

  5. #5
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yes it came pre installed on the pearl...

  6. #6
    YMark's Avatar
    YMark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    It didn't come pre-installed on the T-Mobile version, unless I'm missing something. The messenger program that has AIM, Yahoo, etc came loaded but not BB messenger.

    I'll try removing and re-installing. BTW, I read on another forum that I need the Rodger's release of the OS. I find that hard to believe, but maybe it is true.

  7. #7
    YMark's Avatar
    YMark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    Well I removed the app, re-installed and still no sign of an icon. I'm beginning to think that it is a T-Mobile issue. Maybe they don't want you using PIN messaging and I have to update to the Rodger's OS if I want it. I don't want it that bad though.

  8. #8
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    Not tmo issue. I have on my 8100, 8700 and 7290.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    safah's Avatar
    safah no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    i have the same issue...but with google talk

  10. #10
    jlesh's Avatar
    jlesh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    23D95340
    Posts
    264

    Re: Installed BB Messenger - where is it

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Just wanted to describe the icon for you. It is a blue "comic" dialogue bubble with a white Blackberry logo. Any way, did you try holding alt+clicking the trackball and then selecting "show all". I can't imagine why it would be hidden after installation, but ya never know. Good luck, and I'll post anything else I think of when(and if) it comes to me.

  11. #11
    EvolutionCSR's Avatar
    EvolutionCSR no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,711
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~I had to reinstall BB messenger on my 8100 now my icon won't appear.

    VERY annoying reinstalled, deleted about 10 times now OTA and through PC. Definetly not hidden either.

    Had to reinstall because the messenger started throwing me a java error whenever I hit menu.

    Where's my BB messenger? LOL.

  12. #12
    YMark's Avatar
    YMark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99
    What I ended up doing was downloading the OS from TMO and installing it on my PC. Then I launched DM and selected the BB Messenger application. All is well now.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •