Results 1 to 12 of 12

DOes any one has a gps solution for his blackberry... Networking with PinStackers forum

  1. #1
    svierhout's Avatar
    svierhout no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2

    GPS

    Advertisement



    DOes any one has a gps solution for his blackberry

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: GPS

    There are a couple of BBs that have built in GPS, that all is required is an Application/Service to be very useful. Others sucha as the newer 8700 and 7130s are capable of using Bluetooth to connect to GPS pucks and have applications to enable using those. I see you have a 7100v, which I don't know very much about so I can't tell if yours is capable of either of these solutions will work for you.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr

  3. #3
    peguero's Avatar
    peguero no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    21958312
    Posts
    979

    Re: GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr
    There are a couple of BBs that have built in GPS, that all is required is an Application/Service to be very useful. Others sucha as the newer 8700 and 7130s are capable of using Bluetooth to connect to GPS pucks and have applications to enable using those. I see you have a 7100v, which I don't know very much about so I can't tell if yours is capable of either of these solutions will work for you.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr
    Can you (or anyone) please elaborate on 8700g using bluetooth to connect to GPS Pucks?

    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Treo700's Avatar
    Treo700 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    222

    Re: GPS

    Only iDEN BB's have true GPS built in. Other models require an adapter to do so. Being said I've paired to a TomTom 700 via BT.

  5. #5
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: GPS

    I've considered buying a gps receiver to use with my 8700. However, I think it's much easier just to use a gps unit (Magellan, etc). And with how much they've come down in price, it makes more sense now.

  6. #6
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: GPS

    Sprint CDMA has now intergrated Telenav into a few of their devices. The BlackBerry is not one of them for now, but will be in the near future. Sprint is now the second company to offer a true GPS solution on their units, Nextel being the first!

    Devices from Sprint CDMA that have Telenav intergrated beginning 8-1-06:
    Samsung A800
    Samsung A920
    Sanyo Katana 6600

  7. #7
    peguero's Avatar
    peguero no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    21958312
    Posts
    979

    Re: GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by ljbyar
    I've considered buying a gps receiver to use with my 8700. However, I think it's much easier just to use a gps unit (Magellan, etc). And with how much they've come down in price, it makes more sense now.
    I would consider the same, however I already got a BT GPS PUCK...so if I can use it...why not.

    I got all the ingredients, but I need a reciped to bake this cake....

    ANYONE DONE THIS BEFORE????

  8. #8
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: GPS

    Granted. Let me know how it works out once you get it going.

  9. #9
    peguero's Avatar
    peguero no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    21958312
    Posts
    979

    Re: GPS

    JUST SPECULATION -

    I think I would need to load some type of 3 party app to get a BT GPS Puck to work with BB.

    Because all GPS PUCK does is act as a receiver/transmitter. You still need reference software for establishing satellite lock and maps.

    I have mapping software that I can load on to PPC, but not sure of how to load it on to BB or even if it would work.

    IT WOULD BE GREAT IF- i CAN USE GOOGLE MAPS TO CONNECT TO BT GPS PUCK.

  10. #10
    KingoL's Avatar
    KingoL no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: GPS

    Hello, I'm new to BB. I have a 7250. how good is the GPS? Is there a good navigation software for BB? Thanks

  11. #11
    BBadBoy's Avatar
    BBadBoy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    4010DD80
    Posts
    222

    Re: GPS

    Hey, CP6169, any idea which Sprint BB's will get GPS? I have a Nextel 7100i with Telenav. I'd love to get a 7130, but not if I have to give up built-in GPS.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: GPS

    BadBoy, 7130 already has gps built in. As for when there will be a navigation solution, depends on what you want. Check out Sprint Family Locator, may be of some interest to you. If you want telenav I would wait a few months, we should see the BlackBerry 7130 soon. My 2 cents though, I cant confirm.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •