Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

I'm sure it is well known to everyone the issues some Stackers have to deal ... Blackberry Guides forum

  1. #1
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Thumbs up Get Rid Of Your Little Red Lock and IT Policy

    Advertisement



    I'm sure it is well known to everyone the issues some Stackers have to deal with when it comes to the Firewall and IT Policy.

    After being pointed in the right direction by kkwus74, I was able to come up with the following steps on how to get rid of the red lock on the firewall and the IT Policy.

    4.5 OS BETA IS UTILIZED IN THIS METHOD, BUT NO DISCUSSION OF WHERE OR HOW TO GET IT WILL BE DISCUSSED IN THIS THREAD ACCORDING TO PINSTACK RULES.

    By the way, this method is for those that do not wish to use the 4.5 beta OS and only wish to get rid of the red lock or IT Policy until the official 4.5 OS. This method uses the beta OS...but then you revert it back to whatever your original OS version was.

    Before going through this process, make sure you have the ability to download your current OS.

    So here it goes:

    -Completely remove current DM (desktop manager) and make sure the policy.bin file is also completely gone.

    -Reinstall the newest version of DM.

    -After finding (on your own or outside of PinStack) and downloading the 4.5 beta os for your specific device, save the install file to the location of your choosing. DO NOT INSTALL OS YET.

    -Backup your BB the exact way it is now using DM.

    -After you have created the backup, proceed to remove the SIM card and memory card if you have one.

    -Replace battery into your BB, allowing it to boot up entirely but DO NOT CONNECT TO PC YET.

    -Find and delete vendor.xml file. It is easier to use your PC's search feature to find it.

    -Install 4.5 beta os...during the process it will ask you if you would like to backup..DO NOT. You already backed up your BB in the beginning of this process.

    -After 4.5 os has finished installing, check off start DM and click finish.

    -Once DM is running, now connect your BB to the PC.

    -After your BB is recognized, load JL_Cmder 1.9.0.

    -When JL_Cmder is running, select Resettofactory and allow it to wipe your handheld.

    -After the reset and wipe is complete, disconnect your BB and allow it to boot up.

    -Continue to remove/uninstall 4.5 beta os from your PC.

    -
    Find and delete vendor.xml file.

    -Install your original OS that you had before 4.5 onto your PC.

    -Once original OS is back on your PC, reconnect your BB.

    -Run application loader, it will prompt you if you want to downgrade. Select whatever option is yes. DO NOT BACK UP DURING THIS PROCESS, again.

    -Once your original OS is back on your BB, continue to restore your device with the backup you created at the beginning of this walkthrough.

    -Do a battery pull or softreset.

    You should now have no IT Policy or red lock on your firewall.

    I would like people to leave feedback on if this worked for them or not. It did for me after 3 months of trying to figure out how I might get rid of IT Policy and red lock.
    Last edited by lucky13mt; 06-02-2008 at 03:55 PM. Reason: Updated steps
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  2. #2
    Webby's Avatar
    Webby no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    219
    What if you already have OS 4.5 beta on your handheld? What should you do? Should do downgrade?

  3. #3
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    Quote Originally Posted by Webby View Post
    What if you already have OS 4.5 beta on your handheld? What should you do? Should do downgrade?
    If you oready have OS4.5 you should be able to run jl_cmder restoretofactory command and let it wipe your device,leaving you with your OS and 3rd party applications after the process is done.you should not have an it policy or a locked firewall after this.

  4. #4
    Webby's Avatar
    Webby no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    219
    Where can I find JL_Cmder how do i get it to work?

  5. #5
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    you can find JL_Cmder at the link below and also instructions on how to use it:

    Instead selecting wipe,select restortofactory command.As with all upgrading and downgrading,please backup your device first.

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=197

  6. #6
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    you might also wanna take a look at this thread:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=66329

  7. #7
    Webby's Avatar
    Webby no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    219
    I think I fried my blackberry I get an icon with a circle, box, and triangle with an x over it and it says 507. Now what?

  8. #8
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    Quote Originally Posted by Webby View Post
    I think I fried my blackberry I get an icon with a circle, box, and triangle with an x over it and it says 507. Now what?
    What steps did you do?

  9. #9
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    When the official 4.5 OS is released you will be able to reset your BB to factory settings like kkwus74 said above.

    This method will only be valid until the official release of 4.5 OS is released, but I figured I'd post it for those who want to get rid of their firewall and IT Policy errors now.

    All those already with 4.5 can reset using JL_Cmder.
    Last edited by lucky13mt; 06-02-2008 at 12:14 AM.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    One more thing, it took me about 4 tries and 5 hours before I figured out exactly how to pull it off.

    With this method, it should take everyone else no more than 1-2 hours.

    Don't forget, DO NOT BACKUP DURING OS UPGRADE/DOWNGRADE.

    Only one initial backup.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    Webby's Avatar
    Webby no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by kkwus74 View Post
    What steps did you do?
    I selected wipe instead of resettofactory before I was told to select factory, and my blackberry powered down and then on again and I get that 507 error

  12. #12
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    [quote=Webby;753258]I selected wipe instead of resettofactory before I was told to select factory, and my blackberry powered down and then on again and I get that 507 error[/quote

    Can you re-install your OS now?

  13. #13
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    you did do a backup before wiping right?

  14. #14
    coldconfessi's Avatar
    coldconfessi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24046800
    Posts
    124
    I don't see why you have to uninstall then reinstall DM for this process
    http://www.horizonwirelessonline.com
    Unlock Codes, Parts, Repair just tell them Albert sent ya

  15. #15
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by coldconfessi View Post
    I don't see why you have to uninstall then reinstall DM for this process
    To get rid of old policy.bin file.

    If you manually delete the policy.bin file you will get an error when trying to run DM.

    First delete the policy.bin file then remove and reinstall DM.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •