Results 1 to 7 of 7

RIM, maker of the must-have executive email gadget the BlackBerry, will this week unveil its ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #1
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Vodafone to Offer New/Improved BlackBerry Storm 2

    Advertisement




    RIM, maker of the must-have executive email gadget the BlackBerry, will this week unveil its second attempt to break into the touchscreen market which has become so dominated by the Apple iPhone.

    But the Canadian company, which has teamed up with Vodafone in the UK for the phone, is hoping that the Storm 2 handset will get a more positive critical reaction than the first version that went on sale in last November.

    The original BlackBerry Storm was famously blasted by technophile Stephen Fry – a diehard Apple fan – who told his followers on Twitter that the device was "shockingly bad. I mean embarrassingly awful." He believed that the phone had been rushed out "unfinished" by RIM and it was a view that many other critics came to hold when they got their hands on it. With the BlackBerry Storm 2, which will go on sale in Britain this week, RIM reckons it has solved many of the problems that be devilled the original device. It has upgraded the touchscreen, which fueled many complaints in the original device, and made it far more responsive.

    read more

  2. #2
    dklimah's Avatar
    dklimah no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK ME
    Posts
    422
    Cool. Hope it comes to TMO or I can get an unlocked version.

  3. #3
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    From all the rumor mill its not comin to the u.s. Except for vzw I'm pissed att isn't getting it,also their saying all the NA bands are locked so again unless u jump ship to vzw u will be stuck in EDGE at all times,someone correct me if I'm wrong plz

  4. #4
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    ...since I'm a Voda client, I'm glad this is happening! But I want to reserve my opinion as to the better functionality of the touch/prod screen...let's wait and see !

  5. #5
    kayhites717's Avatar
    kayhites717 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!!
    Posts
    755
    Quote Originally Posted by drdoom23 View Post
    From all the rumor mill its not comin to the u.s. Except for vzw I'm pissed att isn't getting it,also their saying all the NA bands are locked so again unless u jump ship to vzw u will be stuck in EDGE at all times,someone correct me if I'm wrong plz
    You are correct. If you use a vzw storm on ATT, no 3G. only EDGE. And I agree. I am disappointed that ATT didn"t snatch up this device as well. It is very disappointing. Although I do look forward to the release of the upcoming Bold II, I still wish that there would be a comaparable device to the storm added to ATT's RIM lineup. But, I guess with ATT being so focused on the touchscreen APPLE Iphone, there is just no room for a device like the Storm. Touche
    "All are lunatics, but he who can analyze his delusion is called a philosopher." - Ambrose Bierce (1842-1914)

  6. #6
    dakid2k6's Avatar
    dakid2k6 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    248
    This sucks if the storm 2 only works edge on ATT, I had read a bit back that the storm 2 was unlockable and have 3G bands for NA. I got so hyped for it and am waiting for it to come out, but after reading this post and if its true I won't be buying one. Maybe get the onyx when it comes out.

  7. #7
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    Well my question was for the 9520 on vodafone since their getting ready to launch their hsap network its obviously gonna run on one of those NA bands correct?will it work with att's 3G? I have both att and vzw so either way I'm getting one I would just prefer att,and again I think att is getting the dakota wich is bold size and has a touch screen,I'm just worried about all the hype I mean I have the S1 and with the 5.0 sofware its not bad I curious about the finished product,I just wanna know if it'll work,plus I knew once rogers wasn't getting it even though some att reps said oh we're getting it lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •