Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 66

Originally Posted by FF2 Is there a simple way of getting a list of all ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #16
    Rhokk222's Avatar
    Rhokk222 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    204FF9DF
    Posts
    85

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by FF2 View Post
    Is there a simple way of getting a list of all the installed COD files on the unit? Rather than the Status/Advanced...../Properties for each one individually?

    actually... yes! i cant believe i forgot about it. however im at work at the moment and i dont remember the command off the top of my head. i will post back in a few hours with an edit explaining how to output all the modules that you have installed on your phone to a text file.
    ...always tinkering...

  2. #17
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    OK, I renamed the files on the today plus themes and it worked perfectly thanks. I also deleted the crossbar theme off of my BB, created the .alx and reloaded it via the DM and all went smoothly. Just wanted to say thanks again for the awesome tutorial and help!!!!! I will use this often!!!!
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  3. #18
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  4. #19
    Rhokk222's Avatar
    Rhokk222 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    204FF9DF
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by FF2 View Post
    Is there a simple way of getting a list of all the installed COD files on the unit? Rather than the Status/Advanced...../Properties for each one individually?
    thank you cp6169 for finding that!

    FF2 this is what you would type in after you click your shortcut...


    C:\Program Files\JL_Cmder\javaloader -usb dir > ANYNAMEYOUWANT.txt


    this will give you a text file that contains all the modules/files that is in your blackberry. this text is saved in the
    C:\Program Files\JL_Cmder\
    ...always tinkering...

  5. #20
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970
    Dude You Rock. Awesome write up!

  6. #21
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    this is gonna be one of those posts that everyone links to>> like the how to reinstall OS when the computer wont reconize my bb. Not to take away from this great guide but you can do a backup of 3rd party apps with the DM. Just as a FYI

  7. #22
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Excellent Walkthrough.

    Great ScreenShots as well!!!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  8. #23
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffallen8 View Post
    Not to take away from this great guide but you can do a backup of 3rd party apps with the DM. Just as a FYI
    How???? I have an 8130 with DM 4.3 and can find no way to back up applications, only messages, settings, custom dictionary and the like. Just user databases get saved. I have mine set to do a full backup weekly and looking through old ones can never find any applications to restore, only databases.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  9. #24
    Rhokk222's Avatar
    Rhokk222 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    204FF9DF
    Posts
    85
    Jeff has said this before, but when I asked him how, he didn't explain how to do it.

  10. #25
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    when you use the DM there is an option for switch device. Click that then choose "switch blackberry devices". its asks you to connect the device you want to back up then click "next". Select USB then click"next", Its will do a search then it will ask for what information you want to import to your other device. Check 3rd party applications and User data(if you want do messages also) then click "next". Now its creating the temp backup file. When its done Stop Right Here!!!!! Now go to MyDoc's and you will find the file " LoaderBackup(today'sDate).ipd" this is your back up file copy it somewhere and your backed up. I cant get it to transfer to another device but it should work with restoring your device.

  11. #26
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Maybe I'm not understanding.....you say it won't work for but you say it should work for me???

    And even if it did, to add an old game back on my BB, I would have to search through tons of old backup files.

    With Rhokk222's method, the games are stored in my folder with games I downloaded from zip files. And my OTA themes are stored in the same folder as my other themes downloaded as zips to my desktop.

    So I can use the app loader to add and remove them as I wish. This is much easier in my opinion than searching through old backups.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Last edited by azstar; 04-21-2008 at 06:06 PM. Reason: suretype mistakes

  12. #27
    3klub's Avatar
    3klub no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12
    Hi, I really appreciate your post on how to save files with java loader. I'm having a different problem that might tie in with JL commander & you might be able to assist me with cause I can't find any helpful post.

    I was having problems with my 8100 so I decided to update/upgrade my OS. Was also having problems doing that because DT manager would not automatically find the downloaded OS (I dwn loaded OS to desktop, deleted vendor xml file, then opened & connected to DTMnger). I decided to wipe my bb with JL commander and install the OS fresh. DTM is still not finding the OS on my desktop. From what I understand, after deleting the vender xml file, DTM should inform that you have a update. Well, after connecting & clicking app loader on DTM the box doesn't have any programs in it (don't think it should). I have to click "Add" and go to my desktop where the OS file is but it dosn't show up, so I choose "all Files" and then it shows up. When I click on it and select ADD, the message "There is an XML syntax error on line1" shows up and I cannot load the OS.

    Do anyone have any suggestions??? Hopefully someone is knowledgeable or have had the same experience with these BB. IS THERE A WAY TO LOAD A OS VIA JAVA LOADER and If not, DOES ANYONE HAVE SUGGESTION(S) ON WHAT I CAN DO??? I really need some help because I'm stuck with a phone that works but just needs the main program, the Operating System.

    Sorry for being long but I had to describe the problem so you would have all the info to better assist me. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME!!!

  13. #28
    nova609's Avatar
    nova609 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    108
    [quote=Rhokk222;705534]
    Once you have your edited .alx, just place it next to your .cod and fire up the Desktop Manager and proceed to install your backup the way it was meant to be installed! This method takes a little longer but is better because you can find the app under APPLICATIONS and Desktop Manager shouldn't try to erase it.





    Sorry, but having trouble with this step....I went in and changed the "blue circle" with the file I saved (exactly the same)....now what do you mean by "proceed to install your backup"....newbie here...

  14. #29
    nova609's Avatar
    nova609 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    108
    EXCELLENT INSTRUCTIONS.....by the way!!!!!

  15. #30
    Rhokk222's Avatar
    Rhokk222 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    204FF9DF
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by nova609 View Post
    Sorry, but having trouble with this step....I went in and changed the "blue circle" with the file I saved (exactly the same)....now what do you mean by "proceed to install your backup"....newbie here...

    i am not sure what exactly are you having a problem with... as i understand, you have successfully made a .cod and now your are trying to make the .alx but are having problems with it?

    just remember that you have to rename the .alx file that i provided for sample! it has to be the same file name as your newly made .cod but with the .alx at the end. once you do this and have the "blue circle" edited to the file's name with .cod, you place the two files together and start up the BlackBerry Desktop Manager and proceed with the Application Loader.

    let me know if your still having trouble.
    ...always tinkering...

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •