Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 56

I just wanted to let you all know that if you set your Quickpull to ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #1
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702

    QuickPull Warning

    Advertisement



    I just wanted to let you all know that if you set your Quickpull to automatic reset, it is not compatible with custom 8900 themes.

    When you use a custom theme, you need to change it back to a precision theme before you do any reboots or upgrades or anything that will reset your phone. Then after the reboot, you can change it back to your custom theme. If you have it on automatic reset, it will reset without doing this and mess up the theme.

    I do not know if this is the same with the Storm, but it happens with the 8900.

  2. #2
    Cano's Avatar
    Cano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    108
    Soft reset works perfectly for the 8900. Quickpull is garbage.

  3. #3
    bill16's Avatar
    bill16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    sorry no
    Posts
    418
    Wow that could suck.I have the bb curve 8330 and I've used the quick pull without reguard to possible problems with theme or anything else.I guess I just lucked out that that I don't have the 8900.Thanks for the warning.Looks like the 8300 bb's might be safe though.I'll watch to see if anything screws up and hope it doesn't,though I don't use the scheduling thing only manual.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    Cano's Avatar
    Cano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    108
    I did have problems with Quickpull as well. I always used Softreset on my Pearl when i had it, and it worked like a charm. When i got the 8900 i thought this quickpull was an upgraded version of softreset, i was wrong. It was slower, and it even froze my 8900 leaving it at a white screen. I switched back to softreset and am not looking back.

  5. #5
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    The same applies to softreset or alt/shift/del.. You want to change your custom theme back to precision before resetting.

    My main concern was for those who have quickpull set on certain times for an automatic reset.

    The 83xx's are safe..

  6. #6
    bill16's Avatar
    bill16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    sorry no
    Posts
    418
    Thanks pdxmatts.I appreciate the warning and news that the 83xx are in the clear.So thank you again.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    Cano's Avatar
    Cano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    108
    Pdxmatts, I have not experienced anything new or outta the norm with softreset and i use a custom theme... i guess i lucked out?

  8. #8
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by Cano View Post
    Pdxmatts, I have not experienced anything new or outta the norm with softreset and i use a custom theme... i guess i lucked out?
    You are lucky.. When I forget to change it back to a Precision theme, I get an uncaught exception error and my icons are messed and some are missing. It's a real pain.

  9. #9
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491
    I don't have any problem with a custom theme either. But I have only tried it with SoftReset and the alt/shift/del method. I did go back and recreate my themes once the "official" Plazmic version came out, because I was having that problem with themes created in the beta versions.

  10. #10
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    I just made a theme yesterday with the new Plazmic and mine still did the same thing. Maybe it is the OS I have .174.. Used alt/shft/del to reset

  11. #11
    Risingsun124's Avatar
    Risingsun124 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    Strange I have been using custom themes all along and have used every OS released... I use alt/shift/del every morning out of habit from my 8320 and have never had any issues... I have generated my themes with the first and second beta of Plazmic, and finally the official release... Maybe it's something in a particular theme?

  12. #12
    Risingsun124's Avatar
    Risingsun124 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    Wow, my first post... I thought I posted here before...

  13. #13
    Cano's Avatar
    Cano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by Risingsun124 View Post
    Strange I have been using custom themes all along and have used every OS released... I use alt/shift/del every morning out of habit from my 8320 and have never had any issues... I have generated my themes with the first and second beta of Plazmic, and finally the official release... Maybe it's something in a particular theme?
    I'd like to second that.

  14. #14
    k9820986843's Avatar
    k9820986843 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    256D62B2
    Posts
    51

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Cano View Post
    I'd like to second that.
    i am using .199 but im yet facing it .i have faced this issue with quickpull in all os's
    .114 (orignal tmo) .168 .174 and now .199

  15. #15
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835
    1) How in the world do you use the alt/shift/delete method? I can't get it working and I've tried many sequences.

    2) Also where is the Soft Reset app? I had it when I had my Pearl a long time ago, but stopped using it because it was not compatible with 4.5 OS. So it is now compatible with 4.6 OSes?

    3) Lastly is there any benefit to actually pulling the battery vs. using an app to reset?

    Thanks
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •