Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456789 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 122
Like Tree1Likes

OK so those process IDs, any way we can find out what they mean, and ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #76
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882

    Advertisement



    OK so those process IDs, any way we can find out what they mean, and is there a way to show how much RAM each app is using? WOuld be helpful to know which apps cause load on the system
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  2. #77
    Homeuser66's Avatar
    Homeuser66 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    208D9C8E
    Posts
    79
    I'm interested.....T-Mobile 8320-curve ver. 4.5.0.81

  3. #78
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    I like this app a lot so far. If you guys can come up with a way to kill processes that will be awesome. I like the Battery meter and the system info also. I have to agree with azstar it would be really cool to see how much RAM each program is using.

  4. #79
    MWPatterson's Avatar
    MWPatterson no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Plz
    Posts
    1,031
    looks good, will need to play with it more to put it through some tests.

  5. #80
    trickie636's Avatar
    trickie636 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    20E1809D
    Posts
    78
    I would to try it also and have a 9000!!! Let me know!

  6. #81
    Blackberryfreek's Avatar
    Blackberryfreek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    308
    Ani are you still needing more testers?
    If so I'd like to test. 8900 with OS 5.0.0.314

    Thanks

  7. #82
    ani's Avatar
    ani
    ani no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    271

    Arrow JVM Garbage Collection on BlackBerry and background processes

    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    I find some things on the app to be confusing. Like I see very slight changes in the numbers on the processes tab, but huge fluctuations on the System Info tab that do not seem to coincide.
    The numbers on process tab are Process ID. I think since there was no label so few users thought its the RAM used hence the confusion. Process ID will not change frequently, unless a process stops and is restarted again (with a different id).

    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Shouldn't total RAM always be the same? Sometimes it says 10,000kb other times it says 16,000kb
    My bad! Its actually Used RAM. And below that you have Free RAM. The text label is wrong, will correct it.

    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Free ram changes from over 6,000kb free to 900kb free and then back up again even with no change in the processes to reflect a substantial loss.
    A process need not really be killed for Free RAM to change. The way JVM works is this - each application and associated process creates objects in RAM for its use. Processes may create objects anytime - on screen loading, on some network or timer event, on user inputs, in background etc. This causes the free RAM to go down.

    The automatic Garbage Collection in JVM checks from time to time, which of these objects are no longer needed and cleans them up, and thus the Free RAM goes up.

    As you can see, both creation of objects in memory, and subsequent deletion by Garbage Collector keeps the free ram fluctuating. Of course, when a process is killed, then all associated objects in the memory are GCed and that will also free up more RAM.

    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Also I do not see where the processes shows BBM even when I have active convos.
    More on this later..

  8. #83
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Quote Originally Posted by ani View Post
    The numbers on process tab are Process ID. I think since there was no label so few users thought its the RAM used hence the confusion. Process ID will not change frequently, unless a process stops and is restarted again (with a different id).
    Gotcha, see this then:

    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    OK so those process IDs, any way we can find out what they mean, and is there a way to show how much RAM each app is using? WOuld be helpful to know which apps cause load on the system
    Quote Originally Posted by ani View Post
    My bad! Its actually Used RAM. And below that you have Free RAM. The text label is wrong, will correct it.
    OK, that makes more sense

    Quote Originally Posted by ani View Post
    A process need not really be killed for Free RAM to change. The way JVM works is this - each application and associated process creates objects in RAM for its use. Processes may create objects anytime - on screen loading, on some network or timer event, on user inputs, in background etc. This causes the free RAM to go down.

    The automatic Garbage Collection in JVM checks from time to time, which of these objects are no longer needed and cleans them up, and thus the Free RAM goes up.

    As you can see, both creation of objects in memory, and subsequent deletion by Garbage Collector keeps the free ram fluctuating. Of course, when a process is killed, then all associated objects in the memory are GCed and that will also free up more RAM.
    again highlighting why my request above would be freakin awesome if it could be implemented!


    Quote Originally Posted by ani View Post
    More on this later..
    OK, I will be waiting an finding more stuff
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  9. #84
    ani's Avatar
    ani
    ani no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    271

    Arrow New release of TaskManager v1.4

    Dear All,
    We have a new release of TaskManager. Please install it from www.getempower.com or OTA at www.getempower.com/ota

    The new version implements corrections in RAM calculation and a detailed screen for each running application.

    Thanks,
    Ani.

  10. #85
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Awesome! device rebooting. I just installed it.

    Ani,

    Is there any way possible for the performance graph (battery graph) instead of showing on the left side its performance by 10's to show instead the time in which the battery decreases/increases or charging/dying? I suppose. Do you think this could be possible? I think it would be a great if one were to know exactly how the lifespan of a battery at full usage or maybe just by texting/calling or even for testing the performance of the device running media operations. Just a thought. Thanks for the update
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  11. #86
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Thanks for the update. Installed and looking good. I also would like to see a little more detail in the battery meter if at all possible.

  12. #87
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Nice little app, Ani.....I concur with the suggestions above, including if at all possible, being able to "kill" a process through the application. Easier said than done, I'm sure.

  13. #88
    ani's Avatar
    ani
    ani no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    Thanks for the update. Installed and looking good. I also would like to see a little more detail in the battery meter if at all possible.
    Feel free to suggest ideas.. Battery level is shown in the graph.. Battery temperature is shown in the System Info tab.. do we want to show something else in the graph?

    Thanks,
    Ani.

  14. #89
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Hi Ani,

    I was suggesting if you guys could add a timeframe to it if possible. Something that would indicate how a user abuses his/her battery on a daily basis perhaps a 24hr mark. Just so one can track the lifespan of a battery at full charge and how long it takes for it to drain and why would it drain so much. One can then confirm whether it was because of an application running constantly or media or web browsing etc... Hope that makes sense
    What's the matter? CIA's got you pushing too many pencils?

  15. #90
    ani's Avatar
    ani
    ani no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by raton View Post
    Hi Ani,

    I was suggesting if you guys could add a timeframe to it if possible. Something that would indicate how a user abuses his/her battery on a daily basis perhaps a 24hr mark. Just so one can track the lifespan of a battery at full charge and how long it takes for it to drain and why would it drain so much. One can then confirm whether it was because of an application running constantly or media or web browsing etc... Hope that makes sense
    Nice..

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456789 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •