Results 1 to 12 of 12

8130 users you'll find this blog entry very useful: "Recently, Verizon Wireless released an upgrade ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #1
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Kelly Carter's How I Upgraded My BlackBerry OS (8130)

    Advertisement



    8130 users you'll find this blog entry very useful:

    "Recently, Verizon Wireless released an upgrade of its version of the BlackBerry Operating System (a.k.a. Device Software) for the Pearl 8130, updating from version 4.3.0.60 to 4.3.0.97. Having never done an upgrade (my phone is only 3 months old), I wanted to research the “how-tos” and hazards of upgrading before I risked messing up my phone. I did my homework, set aside plenty of time in case something went wrong, and took the plunge. I am pleased to say it went beautifully, and I have lots of pictures to show how an upgrade works.


    If you aren’t sure what your installed Operating System (OS) version is, do Options > About. It’s not labeled explicitly, but below the OS version is 4.3.0.60."

    [Continued...]

  2. #2
    kellycarter's Avatar
    kellycarter no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the referral, Hayden. Kelly Carter

  3. #3
    bzaid23's Avatar
    bzaid23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    15
    I have done the upgrade as well and haven't had any problems. It is a good upgrade and I have noticed minor changes that have made the phone better.

    BZ

  4. #4
    fjl307's Avatar
    fjl307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    34
    Mine bricked and I had a hell of a time fixing it. I was kind of hoping it was bricked for good so I could return it and get a new one without a dead pixel.

  5. #5
    jslim1's Avatar
    jslim1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    After the upgrade, I have been having problems with the navigation software. From time to time, the phone cannot find a signal. I get a message alerting me that the signal is too weak and to move a different location. Well, no matter where I go, the signal is never good enough. Before the upgrade, I would never get this message.

    In order to get around it, I have to remove the phone's battery pack for a couple of minutes and reinstall it . After doing so, I am able to use the navigation software without problems.

    This is annoying. If I knew how to go back to the previous version, I would, as I have not seen any benefits from the .97 version.

  6. #6
    pennaryan's Avatar
    pennaryan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    71
    Hey all I too cannot use the VZ navigator as well since the upgrade. Wish I could just ditch it all together(the VZ Nav that is) and get something better. Just being patient for the 4.5 for html mail yeehaw

  7. #7
    bladeberry's Avatar
    bladeberry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    318b6284
    Posts
    110
    Wow Mabye This Is Whats Wrong With My Telenav

  8. #8
    XXBobbXX's Avatar
    XXBobbXX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    37
    hi can i upgrade my 8130 for us cellular using the mts mobility udgrade? cuz us cellular is taking forever haha
    XXBobbXX

  9. #9
    kellycarter's Avatar
    kellycarter no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    ARTICLE RELOCATED: to newBBie.com

    The article Hayden refers to has been moved to my new site at http://newBBie.com. Kelly Carter

  10. #10
    LORENAvas's Avatar
    LORENAvas no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2

    plz help mee

    heyy im havin trouble wit my fphne everytime someone calls me it rings twice and without me pressing anything it goes to voicemail and also its people from my phonebook callin me and it comes up as unknown caller and it dont let me pick up
    how do i make it stop doin dat ??

  11. #11
    kebollin's Avatar
    kebollin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    I just started having similar problems with my phone . I have sprint and when I took it to them they said thee was nothing wrong that they could find but that they will send me a new phine
    my phone i

  12. #12
    kebollin's Avatar
    kebollin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    .. They said there was nothing wrong with the phone but that blackberry wanted to have it sent back ... Does that make sense ? Will the new os work in a sprint 8130? ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •