Results 1 to 11 of 11

BlackBerry® Enterprise Server Express enables businesses of any size to quickly and easily get started ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #1
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702

    BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express Available for Free

    Advertisement



    BlackBerry® Enterprise Server Express enables businesses of any size to quickly and easily get started with the BlackBerry solution. It provides advanced BlackBerry smartphone features with no additional software or user license fees, and works with any Internet-enabled BlackBerry data plan or a BlackBerry enterprise data plan.

    [Read More]

  2. #2
    360Challenge's Avatar
    360Challenge no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    186
    How can I set this up? Can I use a PC with Exchange Server or Windows Small Business? Is there any need to sign with a mail server domain or buy any servers?

  3. #3
    bswt2's Avatar
    bswt2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3
    If you already have an Exchange Server or Small Business Server (2003 or 2008) then there should be nothing else you need. Unlike the regular BES this version supports being installed on the Exchange/SBS Server.

  4. #4
    jglee311's Avatar
    jglee311 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME
    Posts
    240
    Already having BES 5.0 installed in a VMware environment......are there really any advantages (from a monetary standpoint)?

  5. #5
    360Challenge's Avatar
    360Challenge no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    186
    Can I run a server from a PC with windows server os?

  6. #6
    bswt2's Avatar
    bswt2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3
    From a monetary standpoint the advantages are that you do not need to buy any licenses and it can be used with a BIS and BES plan. The BES plan is required for OTA activation while the BIS requires activation over USB I think.

    I don't think it makes sense to switch from BES 5.0 to BES Express unless you needed a lot of additional cal's in the future.

    360Challenge, the software does not care if you run it on PC or Server hardware, just make sure the specs are good enough to run it.

  7. #7
    360Challenge's Avatar
    360Challenge no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    186
    Thanks for the clarification bswt2

  8. #8
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    BESX in Verizon's Jail?

    We are receiving UNCONFIRMED reports that Verizon Wireless will NOT allow BlackBerry users access to RIM's new BES Express software without upgrading their data plan. This would require an additional $15.00 per month per user. It also appears (again, UNCONFIRMED) Verizon is the ONLY carrier following this outline.

    One of the advantages of BESX is it will allow small business owners to use the features of a BES service, at a BIS price. Original reports from RIM stated these features would be available without an increase in cost from the carrier. Apparently Verizon wasn't listening. It appears this is yet another attempt by Big Red to gouge their customer's wallet.

    What are your thoughts?

    Via BlackberryOS

  9. #9
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Verizon to charge extra for BESX access.

    http://www.boygeniusreport.com/2010/...r-besx-access/
    ..
    Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16

  10. #10
    noftsierb's Avatar
    noftsierb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2

    BESX comments

    I have full BES and support.

    I spoke with RIM and they confirmed that OTA does work *if* you have the BES data plan. They claim transported tool will not work.

    I used transporter tool to move my Verizon BB from my full BES 5.0.1MR2 to BESX. Then ic alled VZ and downgraded my data plan. Works fine.

    YMMV but it seems the BESX will be a win.

  11. #11
    noftsierb's Avatar
    noftsierb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2
    I don't think it makes sense to switch from BES 5.0 to BES Express unless you needed a lot of additional cal's in the future.
    +

    I disagree. I am saving $1500 a eyar on tech support and $7200 a year moved 40 users from BES to BESX and lowered data plans. So, there are very real savings out there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •