Page 1 of 10 123456 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 140

How do you make the 8320 use Wifi when both EDGE and Wifi are available. ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #1
    ccjjr59's Avatar
    ccjjr59 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    52

    8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE are on

    Advertisement



    How do you make the 8320 use Wifi when both EDGE and Wifi are available. I don't want to use the slow EDGE if Wifi is available... I've had to turn off the EDGE connection to make it fast.

    Also, what is the wifi browser and where is it?

    Anyone have any idea?

    Thanks!



  2. #2
    chevyboy67's Avatar
    chevyboy67 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    19

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    im having the same prob and tmobile doesnt know whats going on i had a girl tell me that i was the first 8320 caller

  3. #3
    bchelms's Avatar
    bchelms no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    There are a few ways to do this but one is:

    Manage Connections Icon > Mobile Network Options > Connection Preference

  4. #4
    ccjjr59's Avatar
    ccjjr59 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    I couldn't find this option when I went there

  5. #5
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I remember seeing a setting somewhere to set the preference to wifi.
    You can turn mobile off in manage connections.

  6. #6
    deucedst's Avatar
    deucedst no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241F2230
    Posts
    121

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    HI CCJJR59
    Did you buy your 8320 from tmo today? I thought it was avail on Monday.
    Thanks
    Deucedst

  7. #7
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I got my 8320 at a Tmo store yesterday - Friday.

  8. #8
    deucedst's Avatar
    deucedst no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241F2230
    Posts
    121

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    OH MY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am so there tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! how is it do you love it?????
    Deucedst

  9. #9
    ccjjr59's Avatar
    ccjjr59 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    Ya one store said corporate gave the OK but their management said not to sell it yet. So I just went to a mall location and they sold me one.

    I like it a lot, but only when I disable the EDGE connection and use wifi. Hopefully I figure this out.

  10. #10
    ngregory00's Avatar
    ngregory00 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    59

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    Seems like there are a lot of issues getting 8320s to connect to Wifi (H@H). I tried connecting earlier and my Curve totally rebooted. Hopefully after the "official" release date this will all get resolved.

  11. #11
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    Like Melissa said, there is a setting where you can set it to look for a WiFi connection first, before it reverts to EDGE. I remember seeing it, but am having a tough time finding where it is right now.

  12. #12
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    1st try Options/WiFi Connections, set to Automatic and Save. See if that does the trick.

  13. #13
    deucedst's Avatar
    deucedst no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241F2230
    Posts
    121

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    Quote Originally Posted by ccjjr59
    Ya one store said corporate gave the OK but their management said not to sell it yet. So I just went to a mall location and they sold me one.

    I like it a lot, but only when I disable the EDGE connection and use wifi. Hopefully I figure this out.
    WHat color did you get?
    Deucedst

  14. #14
    ccjjr59's Avatar
    ccjjr59 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    I put it on automatic now. I feel like it is still using EDGE though, maybe it's just me. I thought that the wifi would make things a little quicker.

    I got the titanium one. I kinda like the AT&T silver color better, but it still looks good.

  15. #15
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: 8320 How to make it use Wifi when both Wifi and EDGE On

    Quote Originally Posted by ccjjr59
    I put it on automatic now. I feel like it is still using EDGE though, maybe it's just me. I thought that the wifi would make things a little quicker.

    I got the titanium one. I kinda like the AT&T silver color better, but it still looks good.
    Look in the upper right hand corner of the screen, you'll see UMA (instead of EDGE) and some red bars if you're on WiFi.

Page 1 of 10 123456 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •