Page 25 of 31 FirstFirst ... 2021222324252627282930 ... LastLast
Results 361 to 375 of 459

Ok i have gone thru all the posts and have not seen the Chinese 4.2 ... BlackBerry News forum

  1. #361
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    Advertisement



    Ok i have gone thru all the posts and have not seen the Chinese 4.2 link... Can someone please mirror it for me??? i would really appreciate it
    SP[B]
    Sportin a kBerry Curve

  2. #362
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    Yea ok nevermind... It could not have been any more in front of me.... It could have slapped me and i would have missed it. lolol
    SP[B]
    Sportin a kBerry Curve

  3. #363
    bangus236's Avatar
    bangus236 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    138

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    i cant seem to finish downloading the file. drat! it just download to about 5mb of the file and then it stops. anybody care to send me the file through email?
    thanks
    bangus236@gmail.com

  4. #364
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    Hey i see that this OS has a GPS icon now... what does that do for me? did it load GPS onto my BB? lol
    SP[B]
    Sportin a kBerry Curve

  5. #365
    x1zero's Avatar
    x1zero no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    Just finished installing 4.2 on my BB 8700r and it works well. All my 4.1 and earlier themes stayed and after a quick browse nothing seems to have changed. However, I have the voice mail icon on my home screen now but no voice mails. Working on that.

    Also, does this BB play .mp3's or videos?

  6. #366
    x1zero's Avatar
    x1zero no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    ***EDIT***

    Found a quick fix for the voicemail icon:
    1. Call yourself and leave a message.
    2. Then call back from the wireless phone and retrieve the message.
    3. Now delete it.
    4. Then exit the voicemail system using the * key
    Only other noticable change is when you lock the device, my backlight times out within 2 seconds (set to 30 in options) and just using the scrollwheel to unlock doesn't work. I must use * and then the "call" key.

    Anyone figure a fix for that yet?

  7. #367
    jrok14's Avatar
    jrok14 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    3179870B
    Posts
    167

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    so....any luck on an 8703e yet? Or do i have to just get the cyclone next week?

  8. #368
    patcatuk's Avatar
    patcatuk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    97

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    There was some questions I had for those curios in upgrading to 4.2 which hadn't been mentioned in any of the posts so far. Thanks to Aztecuk. This is also useful for tmob uk 8700 users.

    >I am also on tmob uk and am curios to your upgrade >experience.

    1)Which os did u use the venezuela or chinese multi language?

    I used the venezuela from the 4.2 is out forum thread.

    How long did the upgrade take after clicking it to start upgrading?

    Very approx the whole thing took just under 30 mins from start to finish, I also did a mates TMob UK and this seemed quicker!?

    2)How much space did the upgrade take up? Do u still have the same as before? Even an approximate would be helpful.

    On v4.1 I had about 48mb, with this upgrade I had 39mb (approx.)

    3)Does your 3rd party apps still work? Like opera mini, rim yahoo client, blackberry maps, google maps?

    Opera, Yahoo, Google maps, tested and appear ok.

    4)How is the OS speed is it still as nippy as before?

    At first I thought it wasn't quite as fast, now I don't notice but I am not sure perhaps If I just got used to it. I think it may be very slightly slower maybe.

    5)Is there a media player now for mp3 and movies?

    There certainly is! - only tested with MP3 though, you only get 12mb as default to play with but I read somewhere you can increase this slightly.

    6)Is the tmob zen theme still same as the one originally on the 8700. With the same organize and hide ability?

    Sadly the theme doesn't work as well as before, I am getting used to it now, but I found thid one dis-advantage out-weighed everything else!! - I do have the original Tmobile software and the link, so you could try 4.2 and if you don't like it you can "rollback"

    >Thing is the only features I want is the ability to email >image attachments and use the media mgr. I would hate >to lose the opera browser and both maps apps. Just to >gain those two features.

    That is one thing I haven't setup yes it e-mail, haven't had the blackberry very long, so not sure about this. Will be sorting this out soon though.

  9. #369
    reachevan's Avatar
    reachevan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    i am very new to this but would like to load OS 4.2. I went to the telefonica link and only see the 4.1 option. I don't speak spanish and so i am pretty lost. can anyone help a dummy get this loaded? do i load it from the BB or my PC?

  10. #370
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by reachevan
    i am very new to this but would like to load OS 4.2. I went to the telefonica link and only see the 4.1 option. I don't speak spanish and so i am pretty lost. can anyone help a dummy get this loaded? do i load it from the BB or my PC?
    Go for the chinese link, choose 4.2, fill in your info, download the OS to your PC. Run the program when you finish downloading. Run a search on your pc for vendor.xml. Delete that file, open desktop manager and plug in your bb to the computer. The computer should upgrade the OS on the bb. Do a backup so your stuff will be on the bb when you're done.

  11. #371
    reachevan's Avatar
    reachevan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    i went to the chinese site, filled in the info asked for, downloaded the 4.2 desktop manager to my PC. i deleted the vendor.xml file. Opened the manager and ran and it just synch as it normally does. I still have 4.1. Do i need to wipe the BB first, or am i missing a step?

  12. #372
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    You needed to d/l the 8700g option not the desktop manager, that is for your PC the 8700g software is the OS for the BB.
    Michael


  13. #373
    reachevan's Avatar
    reachevan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    THANK YOU. i will give this one a try.

  14. #374
    smartdoc's Avatar
    smartdoc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2

    Question Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    Is that runing on my bb 8700f?
    thanks

  15. #375
    jamez_chen's Avatar
    jamez_chen no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: 4.2 software for 8700 finally out!

    Quote Originally Posted by wibbly
    Browse to ringtones in the media manager, Preloaded ringtones. Click, view Thimbnails. I get a hourglass permanently displayed.

    Also an uncaught exception:java.lang.ClassCastException if I try and play Alarm_Antelope.mid...

    Anyone else able to reproduce this?
    I'm having the same issue with u when playing Alarm_antelope.mid
    but the rest of the mid and mp3 files are fine though

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •