Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 49

I got it when it was beta and am still using that. Works most of ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #31
    mellis2718's Avatar
    mellis2718 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    218255b2
    Posts
    80

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    Advertisement



    I got it when it was beta and am still using that. Works most of the time.

  2. #32
    eric.barcus's Avatar
    eric.barcus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    quick quest sharkmodem im googling it... but why dont you explain a little about how it works or where to find it ect just thought it would help the newbies like me
    BB newbie that loves to mod gadgets, lets get to work!
    pin:32b30d69
    Verizon branded 8703e <-looking for gps hack

  3. #33
    galvatron's Avatar
    galvatron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    240582a8
    Posts
    167

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi
    It depends.

    On T-Mobile, yes.
    On Cingular, you will need to add their tethering plan for an additional $30/month.
    glad m not with cingular lol its a gsmcarrior with c caertain cdma arriers thogt process cough*vorizen *cough

    anyway I would look into getting shark modem it solves all the problems you asking about for a mer e$45.00

  4. #34
    gtgisnow's Avatar
    gtgisnow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    2046FA4D
    Posts
    30

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    try out www.mobishark.com think this wud be quite useful...!!

  5. #35
    aetoole's Avatar
    aetoole no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    I use my BB as a tethered modem sucessfully on a PC laptop. I also pay the $15/mth to Verizon for the "extra" service. Do I interpret these posts correctly in that w/ Shark Modem, I do not need to pay for this service? I'd certainly rather pay the $45 one time and save myself $150 over the year. Can someone give a definitive answer for my BB 8703e on Verizon? Thanks E

  6. #36
    braz's Avatar
    braz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    68

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi
    Pick a carrier that doesn't charge extra for tethering...
    Spint does not charge extra for tethering. It's included in your unlimted plan. I use it all the time. I tether my 8700 to my laptop when on the road works all the time.
    braz
    www.pdi-inc.net
    Imaging Done Right

  7. #37
    dfredrick's Avatar
    dfredrick no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    I could use the info for tethering my mac to bb 8700c. i believe the issue is the modem script. i get an error on my mac "i may have an older blackberry, etc. etc." any thoughts would help

  8. #38
    kane's Avatar
    kane no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    30349623
    Posts
    849

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi
    Pick a carrier that doesn't charge extra for tethering...
    sprint wont charge for the tether not only that you get the CDMA high speeds i have since dropped my DSL

  9. #39
    melerant's Avatar
    melerant no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    32C029E1
    Posts
    549

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    I use my 8703e as a tethered modem all the time.
    I don't even have a home line anymore.
    I hear ya kane. Im not home enough.
    Ladies and Gentleman we are floating in space....
    "God didn't do that, you did that you fat @#$%"

  10. #40
    KingBee01's Avatar
    KingBee01 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~how about if you tether & you don't have the tethering option how much would they charge? I'm with cingular btw

  11. #41
    melerant's Avatar
    melerant no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    32C029E1
    Posts
    549

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    It depends on the data package you have. When you connect to your computer via bluetooth or usb your being charged the same as if your using the WAP browser.
    Hope this helps.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #42
    KingBee01's Avatar
    KingBee01 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i have the BB unlimited

  13. #43
    KingBee01's Avatar
    KingBee01 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~how can I download the sharkmodem or whatever?

  14. #44
    teampredator's Avatar
    teampredator no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    I just changed my phone from the 7100t to the 8700g on T-mobile. In both cases I am able to use as a modem. Although one issue was I had to uninstall and reinstall the desktop software again with the 8700 in order for it to work right. After that it works just fine.

  15. #45
    MWPatterson's Avatar
    MWPatterson no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Plz
    Posts
    1,031

    Re: True or False: The BB 8700 CANNOT be used as a modem

    I have Sprint and they do not charge for PAM service. The speed is good where I live but, in EV-DO service it flys. Verizon does charge the $15 PAM service fee for it. I do recommend they if you plan on using this make sure you have an unlimited data plan. I watched mine and in about 2 hrs of surfing on my PC I would have been over the limit and been charged an outrageous amount of money for it.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •