Results 1 to 15 of 15

My beloved bb is **** due to the usb socket having a lose connection.I have ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96

    Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    Advertisement



    My beloved bb is **** due to the usb socket having a lose connection.I have bought another 8700g and manged to do a backup and I have restored some stuff via desktop manager, but need to install the other applications that were individually downloaded ota eg; mini opera, bb weather, google maps etc. Do I have to do these again ota or can I "tweak" desktop manager to transfer these applications also. If not I'm in for a long night!
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    Just do a backup and restore
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  3. #3
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    Sorry, I've done a full restore and it hasn't transfered any of the applications I have mentioned! All it has done is transfer phone book, emails, and pictures. That's all. Mini opera, bb weather, extra downloaded games have not been restored to the new 8700.

  4. #4
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    backup restore doesn't do anything with the actual apps only with the settings for the apps. Use Desktop manager, it has Switch Device Wizard
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  5. #5
    Dubdub's Avatar
    Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4
    Posts
    653

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    If you did an OTA install then you will need to do it again with the new device. If you used the application loader and DM, then you shoudl be able to reload them that way.

  6. #6
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    I'd just do an OTA install of what you need.

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    That's what I did twice: 1) After I upgraded from the 7105T to the 8100 and 2) After I had to reinstall EVERYTHING ELSE via DM after an OS upgrade gone bad.


  8. #8
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    Iill try downloading upgrade V4.2 and 4.2sp1 and see if the switch device wizard works. Otherwise there's no quick option then! Looks like an OTA re install of my applications and games.........thanks all!
    Last edited by sstephanie40; 03-29-2007 at 09:19 AM.

  9. #9
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    The plus is that reinstalls insure that you have the latest versions... Do you have any puechased games on the old BB? If so, you'll need to have the license(s) transferred from the old PIN to the new.

  10. #10
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    No, thankfully all are free ota or re downloadable via the desktop. Actually I have no choice now, the USB connector (which was loose) fell out last night!

    s x

  11. #11
    Nakim21's Avatar
    Nakim21 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    41

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    Sorry to hear that you have been stuck out like this and I guess now that you have to do the ota thing all over again and though I am sorry this happened to you but now me myself I got my question asnwered as well

  12. #12
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~all transferred. But now hangman dx won't work. Oh well no great loss there I suppose! Can I just say how great the new google maps is! S xx

  13. #13
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~all transferred. But now hangman dx won't work. Oh well no great loss there I suppose! Can I just say how great the new google maps is! S xx

  14. #14
    dc4ou's Avatar
    dc4ou no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    I just moved from a Pearl to a Curve. The games were a free OTA when I had the Pearl, however now they all cost $. I have a backup of the Pearl, is there a way to transfer the games I had on my Pearl to the Curve?

  15. #15
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Transfering Applications From One Bb To Another.... Help!

    if you have the desktop manager you can use the SWITCH DEVICE WIZARD to go from one BB to another, works like a charm
    Michael


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •