Results 1 to 8 of 8

I have an unlocked 8700C on Tmo's network. I downloaded the Instant Messenger from Tmo's ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    Malfo's Avatar
    Malfo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    253

    Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    Advertisement



    I have an unlocked 8700C on Tmo's network.

    I downloaded the Instant Messenger from Tmo's site for the 7290. It installed and ran fine for the first day. Since then it has never been able to connect. Has anyone else had the same issue?

    The error message is "Communication Error. Please try again or check your settings."

    Any suggestions?
    http://www.malfo.com

    BB Pin: 203A953C ------------------Skype/AIM:MigAlfonseca

  2. #2
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    Make sure you are using the proper T-mobile TCP settings. They can be found HERE

  3. #3
    rgoodwin's Avatar
    rgoodwin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    I think I'm about to do the same thing (buy/unlock)...Is the Yahoo messenger the "always on kind" like an app or one of the lame web page type hacks that Tmo used to use on other phones?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Malfo's Avatar
    Malfo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    253

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    Quote Originally Posted by rgoodwin
    I think I'm about to do the same thing (buy/unlock)...Is the Yahoo messenger the "always on kind" like an app or one of the lame web page type hacks that Tmo used to use on other phones?

    Thanks!
    The Tmo messenger is a full messenger for MSN,Yahoo, and AIM. It just doesn't go on all of them at the same time. I still haven't been able to get it to work consistently on the 8700.
    http://www.malfo.com

    BB Pin: 203A953C ------------------Skype/AIM:MigAlfonseca

  5. #5
    Malfo's Avatar
    Malfo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    253

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    Ok I got it to work! Here's my setting in case anyone wants to try it in the future. Thanks for the help Supa.

    Here are my tcp settings:

    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    Username for APN: (blank)
    Password for APN: (blank)

    Both Ramble and Tmo Messenger work. No having to purchase a third party program!

    it wasn't working because i had the username and pw filled up with the mytmobile.com info. It works for Ramble, but it didn't work for the Tmo messenger. Stupid me.
    http://www.malfo.com

    BB Pin: 203A953C ------------------Skype/AIM:MigAlfonseca

  6. #6
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    Congrats on getting it up and running!

  7. #7
    rjharary's Avatar
    rjharary no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PIN/ID
    2038fe53
    Posts
    90

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    When the Battery is taken out, must you reset all those settings?

  8. #8
    Malfo's Avatar
    Malfo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    253

    Re: Problems with 8700C and Tmobile messenger

    No you shouldn't. Your settings should stay the same. I've taken out the battery and all the settings are there on reboot.

    ~~~Posted via Blackberry @ wap.pinstack.com~~~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •