Results 1 to 11 of 11

I have a T-Mobile 8700g, and my reception with T-Mobile isn't swell. My Samsung that ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    germy's Avatar
    germy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    241bb585
    Posts
    148

    Poor signal w/ TMobile

    Advertisement



    I have a T-Mobile 8700g, and my reception with T-Mobile isn't swell. My Samsung that I had before my BB got better reception, and just got my wife a Pearl and she can use her phone right by mine when I don't get a signal.

    My question is does this seem like a 'lemon' phone or is the 8700g known for poor reception?

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re : Poor signal w/ TMobile

    8700 was a good device and I don't know why you're not having a good reception, maybe should you tried an OS upgrade?
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  3. #3
    Emmc's Avatar
    Emmc no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,135

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    I have the 8700g with T-mobile. I've had a lot of phones with them. The 8700g doesn't seem to have any worse reception than the others. It might be your particular phone.

  4. #4
    germy's Avatar
    germy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    241bb585
    Posts
    148

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i 8700/4.2.1.96 is the version I am running, and I guess I will call tmobile and ask them. I mean sometimes I can have full bars but still can't make calls

  5. #5
    Emmc's Avatar
    Emmc no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,135

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    That sounds like an equipment issue. I'd bring it in to a store and have it checked out. Is it new?

  6. #6
    germy's Avatar
    germy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    241bb585
    Posts
    148

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~called tmo and they have put in a service request to the maintainance people here in my town.

  7. #7
    Schufly's Avatar
    Schufly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    471

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    ya...I've had that service request placed for me a few times in my little town. Now TMO is planning to actually build a tower a mile from me and people are protesting it. Go figure. What really makes me laugh is that I travel all over southeastern Michigan on a daily basis for work, and the only place I have signal issues is in my own home. Maybe it's the cats. Do cats block cell signal? I wouldn't be suprised.
    Andy

  8. #8
    beansy72's Avatar
    beansy72 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    33

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    I have to admit that the phone quality on my 8700g isnt that great either. People usually tell me that they have trouble understanding or hearing me and I know that I cannot hear peole clearly. I will def. upgrade before my two years are up.

  9. #9
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    Quote Originally Posted by Schufly
    What really makes me laugh is that I travel all over southeastern Michigan on a daily basis for work, and the only place I have signal issues is in my own home.
    That's precisely why as much as I liked TMO and disliked at&t I switched my personal lines over to at&t. TMO's coverage at my house was too poor to place or receive calls but didn't allow me to roam. At&t's coverage here is excellent. I don't have any land lines so the cell lines have to have good coverage at home.

    Hopefully TMO's UMA will help out people that can take advantage of it.

  10. #10
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    I have had the 8700g for a long time, no problems with signal or voice quality. I have used the pearl and now the curve, all on T-Mobile. They are great.

    I know the coverage isnt always the best, but everywhere I have ever gone, including the middle of nowhere in Iowa I have had coverage.
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  11. #11
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Poor signal w/ TMobile

    First, give tmo a call, maybe a tower issue. Second, if the tower seems ok, try getting your device exchange. Third, if it still happens on your new device, think about getting a repeater (signal booster), pricey, but well worth it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •