Hi all. Sorry for the possibly redundant email, but I'm a newbie to my BB ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

portside07 no está en línea Stack level 1

Pin Release

Advertisement

Hi all. Sorry for the possibly redundant email, but I'm a newbie to my BB and this site.

Long story short, I received a BB 8700C from a friend who got it from a co-worker that was recently laid off. The phone was originally registered to cingular but I unlocked it and now use it w/ T mobile. Problem I'm having is that I seem to receive any emails received from the gmail address of the former user. I was told by T mobile that the user had to get Cingular to release the pin. Unfortunately, the person who the phone originally belonged to is MIA so I can't get him to call Cingular to release pin. Any idea how to get the pin released? Do I have to press T mobile to get Rimm to release the pin so that I stop getting these messages and, in turn, allow me to set-up my own email accts?

Any thoughts/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

wxboss no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    21DA38F3

Re: Pin Release

I'm not sure what a PIN release means as each BB has their own specific PIN tied to the unit and I don't believe you can alter or release it.

I would think the owner would need to log into his Gmail account and stop the email forwarding to this device. I would also think that he will realize that at some point and do it himself.

**Disclaimer** I'm new to this myself, so there are others who may have better solutions available.

eatmypiano no está en línea BES Pro

Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4

The previous owner needs to close their Cingular BIS account to release the PIN and IMEI so you can set up your email, otherwise you get his email. You might try calling Cingular and explain the issue and they might help. If not then maybe RIM. But in many cases when someone tries to do this it is with either a found or stolen BB, so be ready for the nth degree.