Results 1 to 6 of 6

I have an 8703e and one of the problems I have run into when using ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    IODebbie's Avatar
    IODebbie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32BBCB3E
    Posts
    51

    Phone Pad with Letters

    Advertisement



    I have an 8703e and one of the problems I have run into when using my BB as a cell phone is when a business office, automated answering service, asks you to punch in the first 3 letters of a person's last name in the company directory. The BB keypad does not contain those letters like a regular phone does. Is there any way to get that information/keypad on the BB?

  2. #2
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Phone Pad with Letters

    try pressing the ALT key when doing that, it changes to ALPHA dialing
    Michael


  3. #3
    IODebbie's Avatar
    IODebbie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32BBCB3E
    Posts
    51

    Re: Phone Pad with Letters

    Thanks Mikdadad - I tried that, but I still can't see which key to push to get the letter I want.

  4. #4
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Phone Pad with Letters

    when holding the ALT key, just use the regular keyboard letters, the phone will convert those to the appropriate numeric values when it transmits them
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  5. #5
    IODebbie's Avatar
    IODebbie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    32BBCB3E
    Posts
    51

    Re: Phone Pad with Letters

    Ah .. I see. Thank you!

  6. #6
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Phone Pad with Letters

    Yup - a lot easier than you would think.

    Just remember that the keyboard defaults to characters for text fields and numbers and symbols for numeric fields. To get to the non-default item you need to use the Alt key.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •