Results 1 to 15 of 15

My OS upgrade doesn't seem to take? I do the upgrade correctly....download the files, install ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    reemusk's Avatar
    reemusk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    165

    OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Advertisement



    My OS upgrade doesn't seem to take?

    I do the upgrade correctly....download the files, install the update, open the desktop manager, blah blah

    either

    a) it will say no update is needed

    or

    b) it will say an update is found, however when the OS actually updates, i check the "About" screen and it still says .359

    Can anyone assist me? The file says its .493.

    I'm very confused!

  2. #2
    diaz1023's Avatar
    diaz1023 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    293

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~that is the file, but the application is .395 and the same platform, as far as I know there is no os update yet, you are just reinstalling the original os again

  3. #3
    richardrblc's Avatar
    richardrblc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PIN/ID
    22cf4edb
    Posts
    187

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    if your looking for newest os for 8703e alltel is newer the app verison is .373
    it can be found here.
    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...03923A1C591DB4
    just download and istall to pc then delete vendor.xml then launch desktop manager it will see and install the only difference i have found is i dont seem to need to delete logs as often to free up memory
    pin me any time 22cf4edb

  4. #4
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Make sure you have uninstall the previous OS on your desktop. Try that, if it didn't work PM me.

  5. #5
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Quote Originally Posted by richardrblc
    if your looking for newest os for 8703e alltel is newer the app verison is .373
    it can be found here.
    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...03923A1C591DB4
    just download and istall to pc then delete vendor.xml then launch desktop manager it will see and install the only difference i have found is i dont seem to need to delete logs as often to free up memory
    does altell uses Sim Card?

  6. #6
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Alltel does not use sim cards because they are cdma like Sprint and Verizon.

  7. #7
    reemusk's Avatar
    reemusk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    165

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    interesting. in another thread i had, i was told that i needed a .493 update.

  8. #8
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Version numbers aren't the same when you're looking at the installer versus the About screen. For example, I upgraded to Cingular's 4.1.0.529 and my About screen reports version 4.1.0.377.

  9. #9
    richardrblc's Avatar
    richardrblc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PIN/ID
    22cf4edb
    Posts
    187

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    the first number is package number 5.1.0.529
    the second number is app number 4.1.0.377
    pin me any time 22cf4edb

  10. #10
    jpointer's Avatar
    jpointer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    What are the changes in the new os update

  11. #11
    rsamms's Avatar
    rsamms no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    20

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Version numbers aren't the same when you're looking at the installer versus the About screen. For example, I upgraded to Cingular's 4.1.0.529 and my About screen reports version 4.1.0.377.
    I just did the update on 2 8700c's, and found the same thing. The update package is a .529 and the actual OS version is .377. I'm not sure who they'e trying to confuse, but it works. Not intuitive
    Rs

  12. #12
    reemusk's Avatar
    reemusk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    165

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    interesting.

  13. #13
    lonestartech's Avatar
    lonestartech no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Call your cell provider they should be able to help

  14. #14
    Spynguy's Avatar
    Spynguy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3025E9BC
    Posts
    19

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Does anybody know if this wil work with the 8703e from Telus???

  15. #15
    massonite's Avatar
    massonite no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    3015FE3B
    Posts
    1

    Re: OS Upgrade problem....Sprint 8703e

    Quote Originally Posted by Spynguy
    Does anybody know if this wil work with the 8703e from Telus???
    It will if you delete the vendor.xml file from the installation directory. If you don't, then it will show up as NO OS installed when you try to run the Application Loader.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •