Results 1 to 14 of 14

I have had my 8703e (verizon) for about a week now, and have never seen ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    jaymojones's Avatar
    jaymojones no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    No EV Sign on 8703e

    Advertisement



    I have had my 8703e (verizon) for about a week now, and have never seen the EV sign. It always displays 1X, but the speeds seem to be EV speeds. I am coming from a treo 700p and the speeds seem the same. Does anyone else have his problem?

  2. #2
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    Quote Originally Posted by jaymojones
    I have had my 8703e (verizon) for about a week now, and have never seen the EV sign. It always displays 1X, but the speeds seem to be EV speeds. I am coming from a treo 700p and the speeds seem the same. Does anyone else have his problem?
    I haven't seen it on mine, though as I travel in and out of good EVDO coverage areas, the EV will come on and off.

    Which brings up the silly question: Where are you located, and do you know that you have good EVDO coverage in your area?

  3. #3
    jaymojones's Avatar
    jaymojones no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    I am located in the Springfield, VA area and I work in DC, downtown. When I had my 700p, I always had a constant EVDO connection. The BB is not slow when I'm on the net, nor am I complaining. I just have never seen the EVDO sign, since the store set it up for me. I just thought that was really weird.

  4. #4
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    I was wondering if maybe I was imagining things (I get to play with lots of different devices, so I was starting to think that maybe I'd confused the 8703e with something else), but I just checked and it does say "1XEV" here where I have good coverage.

    Keep in mind that even 1XRTT isn't all that slow (well, not unusably slow) especially if you're just pulling down plain text. Still, seems like you should be getting the EV indicator.

    Well, guess I can't add much here, but I am curious and will keep an eye on this thread, I'm curious to find out what the story is.

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    jaymojones, Welcome to PinStack.

    Can't help with EVDO indicator. But let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    periopnurse's Avatar
    periopnurse no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Check with Verizon tech support to be sure your account is set up correctly. I had problems accessing the network and found out that the store where I purchased it didn't set it up correctly.After the changes were made, all has been fine.

  7. #7
    bmedude's Avatar
    bmedude no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    66

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    make sure you have the EVDO access option on your account.

  8. #8
    pspiegel's Avatar
    pspiegel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    49

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    try *22899... it should be there...

    if that doesnt work, do a battery pull, sometimes that triggers it

    otherwise call verizon, you should have it reading 1XEV (not just EV alone)

  9. #9
    jaymojones's Avatar
    jaymojones no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I appreciate everyone's advice and help! I called VZW and they took care of it. They said that it was something missing on their end. But it is working and on now!

  10. #10
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    So if you thought it was fast before ...

    Glad you got it straightened out.

  11. #11
    riffs's Avatar
    riffs no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    You need to provision it. options, network, click wheel, start provisioning. Took me a day to find someone at Sprint to tell me this.

  12. #12
    BCoop8184's Avatar
    BCoop8184 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    32B12DA7
    Posts
    171

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    Ok I have a 7250 and I only see 1X displayed as well. I have no EV coverage ever and neither does my mother who is rockin' an 8703e. The thing is, neither of us use a BB data plan. I talked to some individual at Vzw who had some knowledge about this. Basically, there are settings on your account that need to be made for your device to support EVDO. Bottom line, if you have an EVDO capable device, and you never see 1XEV, then you need to call up Vzw and tell them to fix it cause there is something wrong on their end of the deal.

  13. #13
    db869's Avatar
    db869 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    51

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    Quote Originally Posted by BCoop8184
    Ok I have a 7250 and I only see 1X displayed as well. I have no EV coverage ever and neither does my mother who is rockin' an 8703e. The thing is, neither of us use a BB data plan. I talked to some individual at Vzw who had some knowledge about this. Basically, there are settings on your account that need to be made for your device to support EVDO. Bottom line, if you have an EVDO capable device, and you never see 1XEV, then you need to call up Vzw and tell them to fix it cause there is something wrong on their end of the deal.
    You will only see 1XEV if you have a data plan. Without a data plan you will only see 1X and probably "Data Connection Refused." Also, on the 7250 you need to upgrade to OS version 4.1 to be able to use 1XEV.

    Dave

  14. #14
    BCoop8184's Avatar
    BCoop8184 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    32B12DA7
    Posts
    171

    Re: No EV Sign on 8703e

    Has anyone used the "*22899" on Vzw? does it work?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •