Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I am having problems getting my Blackberry Browser using 4.5. I am using a BB ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137

    Thumbs down No Bb Browser On 4.5

    Advertisement



    I am having problems getting my Blackberry Browser using 4.5. I am using a BB 8700c on At&t and I have the unlimited BIS Plan. I have tried the 3 latest versions of 4.5 and was unsuccessful. I have registered with network, sent service books, and did battery pulls after each attempt and still no bb browser. When I downgraded back to 4.2 the BB Browser comes right up! So, can someone help me try to get the bb browser working with 4.5? Media Net Browser still works, and so do my push emails, just no Blackberry Browser/Internet Browser. I heard that the carriers are locking the browsers in newer versions, so can someone clear that up for me as well? I have 4.5 on both my Curve & Pearl (both with att as well) and don't have this problem with them, so is it just the 8700 models? Thanks in advance for any help!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know it's not that big a deal, but I can't use Pinstack on the Media Net Browser!
    If I knew then, what I know now............

    glen3918@gmail.com


  2. #2
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Would it be possible to add it through desktop manager?

    I know that sounds dumb but easyist answer first right.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137
    It shows up in desktop man, but not on bb.
    If I knew then, what I know now............

    glen3918@gmail.com


  4. #4
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    have you got data services turned on in options?

  5. #5
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137
    yes, all of the data services are on. I am able to get my push emails, and use the Media Net Browser/Cingular Browser, just not the BB Browser.
    If I knew then, what I know now............

    glen3918@gmail.com


  6. #6
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    (may sound like dumb question)

    Have you checked the "show all" in the app's page. The icon may just be hidden.

  7. #7
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137
    yep, its not there. I've done this a few times, so I've tried that too!
    If I knew then, what I know now............

    glen3918@gmail.com


  8. #8
    RoboticGolem's Avatar
    RoboticGolem no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24ab431b
    Posts
    128
    The only thing I can really tell you is that its not an 8700 problem. My 8700 works wonderfully with 4.5 but I'm on t-mo.

    However, here is something to try. Load up your 4.2 and make sure everything works, then back up JUST the service books, load up 4.5, and then restore your service books. See if your browser is there and works, then resend from your carrier. If it dissapears, you know its the carrier.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137
    I'll try that when I get hm today! Thanks, and hopefully that work!

  10. #10
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137
    Great thought, but it didn't work! Are ther any other suggestions?
    If I knew then, what I know now............

    glen3918@gmail.com


  11. #11
    morphwvutuba's Avatar
    morphwvutuba no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    205925CA
    Posts
    6
    This is an AT&T problem. AT&T has the ability to filter service books distribution based on device & OS version (this is according to a RIM support tech). Until they decide to support it, 8700s like yours and mine (unlocked 8700g) will not have the BlackBerry Internet Browser service book, and therefore, no BlackBerry Internet Browser.
    Last edited by morphwvutuba; 10-09-2008 at 04:29 PM. Reason: grammar police :P

  12. #12
    glenbrgss's Avatar
    glenbrgss no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    218EFC5B
    Posts
    137
    Thanks for the info morphwvutaba! I just wanted to make sure there wasn't anything wrong with my phone. I guess we will have to wait on an official att 4.5 os! who knows how long that will be!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    If I knew then, what I know now............

    glen3918@gmail.com


  13. #13
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Yeah man I feel ya I'm still waiting for the official sprint 4.5. From what I hear though, this next one should include MMS capabilities. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    efaerie's Avatar
    efaerie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1
    Hmmm.. I had this problem yester... i dunno if this is gonna help you but i tried everything.. sent new service books,, kept pulling the battery out etc... finally i decided to go to manage connections->mobile network options.. then pushed the blackberry symbol key and ran a diagnostic test....... then everything all came back...

  15. #15
    morphwvutuba's Avatar
    morphwvutuba no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    205925CA
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by efaerie View Post
    Hmmm.. I had this problem yester... i dunno if this is gonna help you but i tried everything.. sent new service books,, kept pulling the battery out etc... finally i decided to go to manage connections->mobile network options.. then pushed the blackberry symbol key and ran a diagnostic test....... then everything all came back...

    Interesting, I never knew of this test. Unfortunately it didn't fix the the problem, but thanks for the info.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •