so i currently have the 8700g and the desktop software 4.2.. when i first start ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

tlhamm89 no está en línea Stack level 1

needing desktop manager help

Advertisement

so i currently have the 8700g and the desktop software 4.2.. when i first start it up it says my pin number and says i'm connected. then when i click on media manager it says there is no device connected please connect your device. i am new to BB and have no clue what to do.. can someone please help!!

luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Do you have your device software installed on your computer?
    that may be the issue
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey

Quote Originally Posted by tlhamm89 View Post
    so i currently have the 8700g and the desktop software 4.2.. when i first start it up it says my pin number and says i'm connected. then when i click on media manager it says there is no device connected please connect your device. i am new to BB and have no clue what to do.. can someone please help!!
    What OS are you running on your 8700g?

what exactly is the device softeware? is it different than the desktop manager? if so where can i download it. i bought my phone off ebay and it didnt come with any software

Ok desktop manager runs on your computer
    Where the device software is what runs your phone. I'm on my bb now so I don't have the link handy but there is a thread on pinstack called "latest OS all models" scroll down to your phone, and there will be a link to your devices software on blackberry.com. Fill out the info needed to grant access and download the latest OS. It's fairly large so it will take some time to download.

Next, don't worry if the software is not for your carrier (ie: a verizion 8130 can use sprints OS for their 8130. But you cannot use another models OS (ie:a sprint 8130 cannot use any OS for the 8330) see what I mean?