Results 1 to 9 of 9

we purchased a used 8700c to replace a liquid damaged device. this used device is ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    caltex's Avatar
    caltex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    need to reset an 8700c

    Advertisement



    we purchased a used 8700c to replace a liquid damaged device. this used device is in great condition but has a password. we are on attempt 5/5. the previous user is currently unavailable. 1) What happens if we fail the 5th attempt? 2) can a tech reset/unlock the device?
    thank you.

  2. #2
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ all information will be wiped from the BB and it will be reset to factory settings. This is safe to do.

  3. #3
    caltex's Avatar
    caltex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    i cannot get anywhere on the device since i do not know the password. what is it you are suggesting i do?

  4. #4
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    Enter in a wrong password to complete the 5/5 (although it should be reading #/10 not of 5). When it completes the maximum number of attempts to access the device, it will wipe it and you can reinstall the OS. Do a search for IT policy since you may have to remove one also.

    Zo.

  5. #5
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ You can change the number of times to enter a password before it wipes a device.

  6. #6
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    Didn't realize that. lol Thanks Erica.

    Zo.

  7. #7
    caltex's Avatar
    caltex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    how do i go from 5 chances to 10 chances if i do not have th password to open up the device?

  8. #8
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    You can't.

    You need to enter the password incorrectly 5 times to wipe the device before you can do anything unless you can get the password. Once you've wiped the device, make sure that there's no IT pocliy on the device (check under Options->Security).

    It's best to wipe a used BB before you take it over anyway -- regardless of whether it has a password or not.

  9. #9
    andrewu's Avatar
    andrewu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: need to reset an 8700c

    I updated my 8700c with OS4.2.1.126. Everything is Ok except at the end, it says,

    "Warnings were encountered during the loading process:
    The following modules could not be loaded because their digital signatures were invalid.
    KnJCDE.cod"

    I noticed this file was related to feature "Push To Talk". How can I fix that? The OS file is from Optus, 8700C_PBr4.2.1_rel126_PL2.3.0.67_A4.2.1.85_OPTUS.e xe

    Thanks alot.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •