Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hi All, I just purchased a BB 8700C (Cingular) off of eBay. The auction clearly ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    silvertint's Avatar
    silvertint no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7

    Help please, 8700C

    Advertisement



    Hi All,

    I just purchased a BB 8700C (Cingular) off of eBay. The auction clearly stated that the unit was unlocked, very important for me as I wanted to use it on the Fido network When I rcvd the unit I inserted my sim card, and it shows invalid sim on the screen with the SOS in red.

    My initial thought was that the unit was locked, so I bought a unlock code, I was never able to get to the point of actually entering the unlock code.

    Weird thing is that in the sim card menu the unit is supposed to show the network setting as "network active" but on mine it shows "network disabled" So I am thinking that it is unlocked but for some reason it does not like my sim, or I am missing a step/information to get it going.

    Does anyone have any thoughts on this.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    imwillzillla's Avatar
    imwillzillla no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2038A4B8
    Posts
    39

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    If I were you i'd try wiping the BB. Hopefully someone else can assist on how to do so. I did have somewhat of the same problem. But how to wipe it is beyond me

  3. #3
    silvertint's Avatar
    silvertint no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    Quote Originally Posted by imwillzillla
    If I were you i'd try wiping the BB. Hopefully someone else can assist on how to do so. I did have somewhat of the same problem. But how to wipe it is beyond me
    Thanks for the suggestion, I already tried wiping the BB, still nothing. I alos tried other sim cards thinking mine might be dead.

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  5. #5
    silvertint's Avatar
    silvertint no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    Did you get the same message with a different sim card?
    I tried 2 fido sims, 1 rogers sim, and they all had the same negative result. I was even able to get my hands on a Cingular sim, that was the only that worked, meaning no SOS or invalid sim msg.

    I also tried wiping the handheld, removing all IT Policies and even upgraded the software to the new v4.2 .. still nothing

  6. #6
    bubblechaser's Avatar
    bubblechaser no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F45BF4
    Posts
    15

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    I bought My BB on ebay also. thats' why i bought one specifically for cingular even though it said unlocked. Good luck hope you figure it out.

  7. #7
    abaqueen's Avatar
    abaqueen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    PMme4it
    Posts
    189

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    doesn't sound like its unlocked to me. Were you able to use the unlock code you purchased? Did you try it when you had the cingy sim card in, that might be worth a try.
    AngieB
    Pin:PMme4it

  8. #8
    silvertint's Avatar
    silvertint no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    Quote Originally Posted by abaqueen
    doesn't sound like its unlocked to me. Were you able to use the unlock code you purchased? Did you try it when you had the cingy sim card in, that might be worth a try.
    I too thought it was locked, so I purchased the unlock code and still nothing, and yes I even tried it with a cingular sim .. nada !!!

  9. #9
    rjedward's Avatar
    rjedward no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    54173301
    Posts
    15

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    Did you have any luck eventually with this? I have had the same problem with a phone sold as unlocked but behaving very much like it was locked to Rogers.

  10. #10
    OriginalLucy's Avatar
    OriginalLucy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    107

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    it sounds like the 5 tries to unlock were used up and it became "hardware" locked. I had mine unlocked by cingular and it works just fine on Fido. Can u contact the seller?

  11. #11
    rjedward's Avatar
    rjedward no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    54173301
    Posts
    15

    Re: Help please, 8700C

    The evidence -- the SIM page -- should be different, I think. When I enter MEPD on the SIM page, all indications, including Network, are "disabled". I've been told by someone at an unlocking business that that indicates the phone has been unlocked. If it had been so-called hardware locked, shouldn't the "network" indication still be "active"?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •