Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Hi Guys, I'm a newbie. I've had an 8707 for some time now and am ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    haseebmalik's Avatar
    haseebmalik no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Advertisement



    Hi Guys, I'm a newbie. I've had an 8707 for some time now and am having all sorts of problems with getting it to work as a modem, I have a feeling this is due to me having the Vodafone Mobile Connect software for a 3G card installed on my lappy.

    I've gone through the Vodafone setup instructions and it when I attempt to get connected, I just get a 'hardware' failure message. I tried the BB on another laptop and it worked fine. I have also tried on a 3rd laptop with the 3G software installed and uninstalled and got the same message as above.

    Any help on this would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    welcome to pinstack.

    try the instructions here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ead.php?t=2224

  3. #3
    gianni's Avatar
    gianni no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    That's the procedure we have come up with...

    1- OVERVIEW

    1.1- Summary of Tasks
    To set up a modem, complete the following tasks:
    A. Install BlackBerry Desktop Software version 4.1 or later (one time only)
    B. Configure the modem settings
    C. Configure dial-up networking (one time only)
    D. Connect the BlackBerry device to BlackBerry Desktop Manager
    E. Connect to the Internet using dial-up networking

    1.2- Pre-requisites:
    The following installation and configuration steps are to be executed on a Synergy II workstation, logged
    with a local administrator account.
    After this initial procedure, the user could be lowered down to "Standard" security level.



    3- INSTALLATION & CONFIGURATION PROCEDURE
    This needs to be performed once only. The following configuration and settings will saved in the
    workstation for future sessions.

    3.1 -Install BlackBerry Desktop Manager
    Install BlackBerry Desktop Manager software version 4.1
    When installing BlackBerry Desktop Manager software, the drivers that enable the BlackBerry device to
    communicate through the USB port and virtual COM port are installed. The Standard Modem, which is
    used by dial-up networking, is also installed.
    Note: If upgrading the BlackBerry Desktop Manager software from version 4.0 to 4.1, the Virtual COM
    Port is required while the Standard Modem might be removed during this upgrade process. If this is the
    case, re-install BlackBerry Desktop Manager software version 4.1 and choose the Repair option to reinstall
    these components.


    3.2 Configure the modem settings
    Right click to My Computer �� Manage �� Under device manager, expand the Modems Line, and double
    click the Standard Modem button:
    1. in the Properties window, select the Advanced tab
    2. add AT+CGDCONT=1,”IP”,”gprs.swisscom.ch”
    3. click OK to save these settings.
    2.3 Configure dial-up networking
    1. Go to Start Menu �� Settings �� Network Connections.
    2. Select New Connection Wizard to open the New Connection Wizard, click Next.
    3. Select Connect to the Internet option, click Next.
    4. Select Setup my connection manually, click Next.
    5. Select Connect using a dial-up modem, click Next.
    6. If the Select a Device screen appears, tick the Modem - Standard Modem check box, click
    Next.
    7. In the ISP Name field, name this new connection "BlackBerry Modem", click Next.
    8. In the Phone number field, type *99#, click Next.
    9. Indicate which users will have access to the connection, click Next.
    10. Leave user name and password filed empty, click Next, then Finish.
    11. In the Connect window, click Properties.
    12. In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem is select, then click Configure.
    13. In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and
    make sure none of the other check boxes are selected, click OK.
    14. In the Properties window, click OK.



    4- CONNECT TO THE INTERNET VIA BLACKBERRY MODEM
    1. Connect the BlackBerry device to the workstation via the USB cable.
    2. Verify that the BlackBerry Desktop Manager displays Connected. (The BlackBerry device must
    be identified by the BlackBerry Desktop Manager in order for the modem to establish a
    connection.)
    3. Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager window.
    4. Go to Start Menu �� Settings �� Network Connections, select BlackBerry Modem menu
    5. Name and password fields must be left empty.
    6. Click Dial.

  4. #4
    haseebmalik's Avatar
    haseebmalik no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Unfortunatley that doesn't work, I can get it to work if it's installed on any machine that has never had the 3G Card software on the machine, it connect's fine. It's really bizarre and doing my head in now.

    When the BB software/hardware is installed on a new machine it takes com ports 4 & 5. However it takes different ports if something else has been installed i.e. 3G card software/hardware.

  5. #5
    haseebmalik's Avatar
    haseebmalik no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Just to give you an update. I have spoken to Vodafone technical support and they attempted to fob me off, by saying they don't actually support the modem feature on the 8707 and the 3G data card specialists may not look at the problem as they don't support BlackBerrys. Totally bewildered by this, I went ballistic and raised amongst other points the following....

    1. Vodafone have the exclusive rights over the 8707, the main difference between the 8700 & 8707 is the modem feature!!!
    2. Why bring out a device if it hasn't been properly tested to see if their will be conflicts with other Vodafone software

    Finally after ranting at their tech support manager for 30mins and threatening to take away 25k a month business away from them, they opened a case and will now be investigating.

    I'll post an update when I have it. If anyone in the meantime has come across this issue or knows a fix please feel free to post as I'm loosing my mind!!!!!

  6. #6
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by haseebmalik
    1. Vodafone have the exclusive rights over the 8707, the main difference between the 8700 & 8707 is the modem feature!!!
    What do you mean? The 8700 functions as a modem as well.

  7. #7
    Ook's Avatar
    Ook
    Ook no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi
    What do you mean? The 8700 functions as a modem as well.
    Correct, but it doesn't act as a 3G modem like the 8707v does. We've set it up using this PDF document from RIM but I guess that only works on the non-3G-card PC? Good luck with cust. support and please post the solution (if it ever gets solved)!

  8. #8
    ian_h's Avatar
    ian_h no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    FYI - After reading this I had the same problem getting the 8707v working as a modem.
    Only when I changed the init string to include a ; at the end did it work for me.
    Note: I also have a 3g card and the VF connect software (v7) installed at the same time, and this co-exists quite happily.

    AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet";

    BTW, I can only get the 8707 modem working when connected via USB - anyone else got it working via Bluetooth?
    When I go to discover BT devices in BB desktop connection manager, I doesn't see my device (although it is paired OK).

  9. #9
    Ook's Avatar
    Ook
    Ook no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by ian_h
    [...]

    BTW, I can only get the 8707 modem working when connected via USB - anyone else got it working via Bluetooth?
    When I go to discover BT devices in BB desktop connection manager, I doesn't see my device (although it is paired OK).
    Are you sure Bluetooth is supposed to be supported? I thought/assumed this would only work via USB?!

  10. #10
    nathan's Avatar
    nathan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ook
    Are you sure Bluetooth is supposed to be supported? I thought/assumed this would only work via USB?!
    I have the same issue all is ok with the USB now thanks to reading the pervious note/comment but when I try with BT no joy. The laptop and BB find each other ok but when i set up the dial up networking I get the error message "bb does not support Dial up service" One of the reasons I choose the thing is it had BT dial-up capability. Any suggestions.

  11. #11
    dimosthenis's Avatar
    dimosthenis no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Vodafone connect lite (Data modem software) for BlackBerry® 8707v™

    Hi to all!

    I use blackberry 8707v for a couple of months. I can say that this site help me a lot in order to understand blackberry devices and services. Since I had a problem with my 8707v using as a modem I find a cool software called VMC lite from Vodafone. It is a nice program which helps you to set up your internet access by one click and also to control your connection with a usage counter (or time).

    I've downloaded from Vodafone's SmarTone website. Is there any possibility to post you the direct links?

    Dimosthenis

    Basic Requirement:
    - PC running Windows XP SP2
    - PC installed BlackBerry Desktop Manager 4.1.1
    - USB Cable to connect between your BlackBerry and PC
    - Internet Explorer Version 6 or above

  12. #12
    jeffery's Avatar
    jeffery no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    46

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    I have tried what has been suggested, and the funny things is unless the desktop manager shows connected and online (it doesn't work when my outlook is offline), I am not even able to diagnose the modem. To make my outlook online, I would have had a network connection.

    I have followed all the instruction given, still unable to connect in..I get error 692: Your modem is not responding.

    Any help is appreciate.

  13. #13
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    jeffery, welcome to PinStack.

    I don't use my BB as a modem, so can't help you. Besides the welcome, I wanted to get this back up towards the top of the New Posts list to try and get you some help.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  14. #14
    jeffery's Avatar
    jeffery no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    46

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    Thanks Rcbjr. I have finally got the BB to work as a modem. The only thing different that I did was to reboot my BB. I noticed that by just restarting the BB, and startup the BB desktop then, the network connection helps. Also, the ";" at the end that Ian H has posted is really helpful.

  15. #15
    skylarkuk's Avatar
    skylarkuk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: Help needed with 8707 modem!!!

    On the BT to 3G. I have been fighting with it all night. Managed to get it to 'dial' out via the USB. My ISP has me dialing *99#. It uses a 'modem' on a COM port ... so I tried to configure the notebook BT to use DUN ... through a COM port. Devices paired, passwords asked for ... but when I dial it tells me there is a connection error.

    So now at the airport I am using BTOpenZone to connect my notebook to the internet, when I could be using Vodafone 3G through my 8707v. As as some have said, a call Vodafone gets you treated like a kindergarten attendee. I guess they have a huge revenue stream no matter what they do.

    I will keep hunting, but the age of the posts here suggest its not possible.

    Dave

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •