Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Has anyone seen this? PC does not recognize device, red led just blinks 3 times, ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Question Help!! Flashing Red Light, No Boot, Nothing??

    Advertisement



    Has anyone seen this?

    PC does not recognize device, red led just blinks 3 times, thats it!

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Help!! Flashing Red Light, No Boot, Nothing??

    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  3. #3
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: Help!! Flashing Red Light, No Boot, Nothing??

    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78 View Post

    Thanks, tried that already, still does not work!

  4. #4
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Help!! Flashing Red Light, No Boot, Nothing??

    yeah your gonna have to reload the OS..

  5. #5
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: Help!! Flashing Red Light, No Boot, Nothing??

    Quote Originally Posted by glehman85 View Post
    yeah your gonna have to reload the OS..
    I cannot reload the OS, as the PC wont recognize the device.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Help!! Flashing Red Light, No Boot, Nothing??

    Global,

    If you have tried the steps in the posted thread multiple times with no success you probably need to wipe the device with JL_CMDER (availble to download here)

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...d=5&linkid=452

    This will totally erase your device for a fresh start....

    Any idea what caused this?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    syntex's Avatar
    syntex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalBB View Post
    Has anyone seen this?

    PC does not recognize device, red led just blinks 3 times, thats it!

    Thanks,
    I have the same problem with my 8820, know anything more yet.
    Can't recognize it nor can i wipe it using jl cmder v1.9.

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Have you tried the steps in post # 2 above yet?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    syntex's Avatar
    syntex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Have you tried the steps in post # 2 above yet?
    I've tried em all :-(

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Here is a slightly different way to try and get the DM to see your device.

    With the updated OS installed on your desktop, the phone disconnected from the desktop and the battery out of the phone.
    Launch Desktop Manager
    Launch Application Loader
    Put the battery in the phone.
    AS SOON AS THE LED lights connect to the desktop.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    syntex's Avatar
    syntex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Here is a slightly different way to try and get the DM to see your device.

    With the updated OS installed on your desktop, the phone disconnected from the desktop and the battery out of the phone.
    Launch Desktop Manager
    Launch Application Loader
    Put the battery in the phone.
    AS SOON AS THE LED lights connect to the desktop.
    I'll try that when i get back from work, i'll let you know.
    btw. It gives a red flash, then short pause and 3 quick red flashes and starts again. Doesn't react to power on or anything else, cannot be found when connected. Thx for helping out that fast by the way. ;-) Just a shame that such costly equipment doesn't reinstall better or at least has an error guide in the box for these events :-(
    Last edited by syntex; 03-11-2008 at 08:03 PM.

  12. #12
    syntex's Avatar
    syntex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5
    It still doesn't recognize it :-(

  13. #13
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    I had an issue like this a week or two ago where the device wasn't being recognized by the DM but it was actually there and I was able to do the OS reinstall with the steps in my top post above. Does your computer "ding" when you connect the device via the USB cable?

    I had to do the OS reinstall 3 times before it actually worked where I could actually use the BB again and put all of my stuff back on and activate it on thte BES again.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  14. #14
    syntex's Avatar
    syntex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5
    No, the computer doesn't recognize it at all. I might just open the blackberry and look for loose parts or something, read something about cooling sinks on the processor that tend to be not fully closing. Just a shame i cant find a guide to the red flashes codes. I tried all the steps i read here on both xp service pack 2 and vista but i ain't getting nowhere. I'm getting out of options here. Also read that there should be a small battery cell on the circuitboard. It was recommended to solder it off and back on. But these are last measures. :-(
    Last edited by syntex; 03-12-2008 at 08:39 PM.

  15. #15
    mimibb's Avatar
    mimibb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1
    hi. i followed the 13 steps to how to reinstall OS. im having trouble when i go into the application loader. it stops recognizing my pin and the connection seems to stop. the screen does not have the the picture of the crossed out battery. I hope you can help.
    I installed new OS and everything. just having trouble with that step.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •