Results 1 to 13 of 13

I was driving down a semi rural area of california and I was in gprs ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    pspiegel's Avatar
    pspiegel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    49

    gprs observation...

    Advertisement



    I was driving down a semi rural area of california and I was in gprs coverage the whole way.. My blackberry 8700g still worked perfectly but I thought it was strange that the GPRS speeds seemed extremely fast.. Almost the same if not faster than EDGE.. Is this just my newbie sense of speed or is it really not that bad?

    Also something strange.. When I typed in google.com it automatically brought up Google Canada.. I double checked the address and did this a few times and still google thought I was in canada.. Any ideas why? Does it go through RIM servers instead of TMobile?

    Any thoughts/ideas?

  2. #2
    pspiegel's Avatar
    pspiegel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    49

    Re: gprs observation...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    williamlc21's Avatar
    williamlc21 no está en línea Stack Lead
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    653

    Re: gprs observation...

    I get the same thing when I type in www.google.com, but if you type wap.google.com you get the normal google. Weird
    "I'm the best there is. And even if you beat me, I'm still the best." -Fast Eddie Felson(The Hustler)

  4. #4
    Anjie's Avatar
    Anjie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: gprs observation...

    I have the same problem with google but also with Dell I couldn't get to the US site. With google I just signed into my personalized site and that problem was gone but the search results were still Canada. Especially the ebay result links.

  5. #5
    moralitylady's Avatar
    moralitylady no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    23D70D2C
    Posts
    8

    Re: gprs observation...

    whoa...I have google maps but how do you get the GPRS thing?? Are you guys talking about the GPRS tracking because I would like to have that on my phone.

  6. #6
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: gprs observation...

    Morality. In order to use a GPS program on the 8700, you need a portable (bluetooth) GPS receiver because the 8700 is not GPS enabled.

  7. #7
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: gprs observation...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    If you were in a rural area on GPRS, you may have noticed speeds as fast as EDGE in an urban area.

    Both systems share the data between users connected.

    Even though GPRS is rated as a bit slower than EDGE, you may have not been sharing the data channels with anyone else, so you got all of them.

    It would appear to be as fast as EDGE, but only because you were the only user.

  8. #8
    option94's Avatar
    option94 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    125

    Re: gprs observation...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~google reads a canadian IP address. Blackberry data does go through rim somehow.

    I don't notice much speed difference wheb browsing ffrom the device, however if you werer tethered to a laptop you would notice a considerable difference.

  9. #9
    pspiegel's Avatar
    pspiegel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    49

    Re: gprs observation...

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    If you were in a rural area on GPRS, you may have noticed speeds as fast as EDGE in an urban area.

    Both systems share the data between users connected.

    Even though GPRS is rated as a bit slower than EDGE, you may have not been sharing the data channels with anyone else, so you got all of them.

    It would appear to be as fast as EDGE, but only because you were the only user.
    i figured it was something like that, i was in the middle of no where so i figured it was something along those lines since the only thing around me were cows! does EVDO work the same way?

  10. #10
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: gprs observation...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I'm not as familiar with non-GSM standards.

    I found a great section on wireless standards on wiki. I had just been reading some of them the day before your question.

    Unfortunately, I don't have the link on my BB.

  11. #11
    pspiegel's Avatar
    pspiegel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    49

    Re: gprs observation...

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I'm not as familiar with non-GSM standards.

    I found a great section on wireless standards on wiki. I had just been reading some of them the day before your question.

    Unfortunately, I don't have the link on my BB.
    Awesome, if you remember could you maybe put it up here when you are off the BB? I am trying to learn as much about this stuff as i can..

  12. #12
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: gprs observation...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    It was an easier link than I thought.

    Http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GSM

    Along the right side of that page is a list of links to the various mobile phone and data standards.

  13. #13
    Traknologist's Avatar
    Traknologist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    23F916AF
    Posts
    62

    Re: gprs observation...

    ~via BB I have the same problem. get

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •