Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hi, i just bought a blackberry 8703e from verizon wireless and i'm completely new to ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    trishlover1's Avatar
    trishlover1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Google Maps?

    Advertisement



    Hi, i just bought a blackberry 8703e from verizon wireless and i'm completely new to the bb world. I tried downloading google maps, and did, but it doesn't run properly. i was wondering how to properly run it? thanks

  2. #2
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Google Maps?

    Does the application run at all? Are you getting any error messages?
    Are you having difficulty with the GPS functions? If memory serves me right, there's issues with that being locked out by Verizon.

  3. #3
    trishlover1's Avatar
    trishlover1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Google Maps?

    oh really? yeah
    it wouldn't download from the blackberry internet service so i then tried with operamini and it worked but when i tried running it, an error message popped up.

  4. #4
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Google Maps?

    What kind of errors are you getting?

  5. #5
    trishlover1's Avatar
    trishlover1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Google Maps?

    it just says unable to start
    i can't see it now because i deleted it
    is it because i have verizon?

  6. #6
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Google Maps?

    It should work regardless of your carrier. Perhaps the download did not work correctly. It's odd that it downloaded through Opera, but not the blackberry browser. Try again from the Blackberry browser.
    http://www.google.com/gmm

  7. #7
    trishlover1's Avatar
    trishlover1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Google Maps?

    it says http 404 error: not found
    :/

  8. #8
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Google Maps?

    You can also try installing from your PC. Go to http://mobile.google.com to get started.

  9. #9
    visortgw's Avatar
    visortgw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    205

    Re: Google Maps?

    Quote Originally Posted by trishlover1
    it says http 404 error: not found
    :/
    There is an issue with Google Maps for the 8703e -- apparently, they never posted the v1.6 update (cause of the 404 error). You can download v1.5.4 (previous version) OTA using the following link:

    http://www.google.com/gmm/apps/v1.5....4+1&ver=v1.5.4

  10. #10
    level9's Avatar
    level9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25

    Re: Google Maps?

    yeh, i had that same problem. there is a main google maps page that you have to get it from, or you can go to mobile.google.com and download there services app. there you can choose google maps, search, gmail and something else i can't remember.

  11. #11
    cmbarber's Avatar
    cmbarber no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Google Maps?

    I have had my 8700c Blackberry for 3 weeks now and I installed Google maps the day I got it. I use it all of the time. Now I can't get it to work at all. The app starts and then I get a network unavailable error message.

    Anyone else seeing this? Any Ideas? Ihave even tried to reload the application, no go..
    I am running OS 4.2.1.96
    Last edited by cmbarber; 08-16-2007 at 04:59 PM. Reason: Automerged.

  12. #12
    jwlinds's Avatar
    jwlinds no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    Thumbs up Re: Google Maps?

    Quote Originally Posted by visortgw
    There is an issue with Google Maps for the 8703e -- apparently, they never posted the v1.6 update (cause of the 404 error). You can download v1.5.4 (previous version) OTA using the following link:

    http://www.google.com/gmm/apps/v1.5....4+1&ver=v1.5.4
    The above was the answer to my problem! Simply read carefully... email the above link to your bb. Once received, copy the link to your bb browser and then download the app. Walla! Magic!

    Thanks guys!!

  13. #13
    visortgw's Avatar
    visortgw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    205

    Lightbulb Google Maps v1.6.1 for 8703e!!!

    Yes, that's v1.6.1!!! Apparently, the link that Google automatically provides based upon device detection is incorrect. The following "generic 8700-series, OS v4.1.x" link does work, and IT INCLUDES GPS (I use a "puck" since VZW has not enabled the internal aGPS...):

    http://www.google.com/gmm/apps/v1.6....00_v4_1_L1.jad

    It appears to be faster than v1.5.4, and it adds map overlay to satellite view (at an appropriate zoom level, of course)!
    Last edited by visortgw; 09-11-2007 at 02:56 PM.

  14. #14
    coljrhack's Avatar
    coljrhack no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Google Maps?

    I have had the same problem but the fixes suggested just error out. Google maps just does not run. Can't fined a copy of the older app that actually works.

  15. #15
    csmbb's Avatar
    csmbb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Google Maps?

    was having same problem with my curve but got it to work by resetting firewall prompts. Tools>advanced>applications>googlemaps>properties> editpermissions>reset firewall prompts> allow google maps

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •