Results 1 to 7 of 7

Sorry for the newbie question. I'm currently with Cingular and have a razor. The company ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    stinkytofu's Avatar
    stinkytofu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Do I have to unlock if...

    Advertisement



    Sorry for the newbie question.

    I'm currently with Cingular and have a razor.

    The company I work for has an extra Blackberry 8700 (believe they use cingular as their provider).

    My question is, since I'm with cingular and so is the company I work for, can I just swap sims card and have the blackberry working with my personal service?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    r3nb72's Avatar
    r3nb72 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    202a1a6f
    Posts
    409

    Re: Do I have to unlock if...

    Hi and welcome. The phone and sms functions will work if you do that but not the data side of things. For that u'l have to get a data plan. Hope this answers yr question.
    Ren

  3. #3
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Do I have to unlock if...

    There may be some other limitations, even after you get the BB Data Plan from Cingular. If your company uses BES and the 8700 was connected to it, there may be an IT Policy applied to the BB, and depending on what the Admins have set, you might find it has limited capabilities. Also make sure they have removed it from the BES and if it was used on the Cingular BIS, that they have released the BIS account.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  5. #5
    stinkytofu's Avatar
    stinkytofu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Do I have to unlock if...

    thank you

  6. #6
    Crewdawg257's Avatar
    Crewdawg257 no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: Do I have to unlock if...

    Welcome to the stacks.

  7. #7
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: Do I have to unlock if...

    Yea , welcome to the Stacks Stinkytofu. Great name BTW....
    SP[B]
    Sportin a kBerry Curve

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •