Results 1 to 9 of 9

I searched the forums.. Can't find an answer... How come before each call I make ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492

    call forwarding

    Advertisement



    I searched the forums.. Can't find an answer...

    How come before each call I make it says "call forwarding conditional?"

    Is this somethin that I have to worry about? A setting I accidentally changed?

  2. #2
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: call forwarding

    With GSM devices, if call forwarding is enabled, there will be a notice before every call is placed to remind the user that some form of call forwarding is activated.

    There are typically two main types of forwarding: immediate and busy/no answer.

    Although the GSM standard provides for much more, often it is a carrier which reduces the flexibility of call forwarding.

    Conditional call forwarding means that there is forwarding activated, but with a condition. It could be one of several: data/fax calls, no service calls, busy calls, no answer calls.

    Unfortunately, because carriers can tweak their own GSM systems, not all GSM codes will work the same way on all carriers.

    In the phone app, click the wheel, select Options, then select Call Forwarding. Your BB will query the GSM system for the status of Call Forwarding which you have activated, this could take a few seconds for the screen to refresh. From there you should be able to see which conditional forwarding you have set.

    If that doesn't reveal the cause of your conditional call forwarding, I would suggest calling your carrier. You don't need BlackBerry support, because this is just a voice thing. Even if you put your SIM in another phone, the forwarding would follow, and you would likely get the same warning.

    Hope that helps!

  3. #3
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492

    Re: call forwarding

    thanks lewis for such an in depth response...
    torched!

  4. #4
    bdamark's Avatar
    bdamark no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Re: call forwarding

    I get the "Call Forwarding - Conditional" when I place calls also.

    I understand the answer given above. But is this necessary? I'm placing a call, but the information message of "Call Forwarding - Conditional" is in reference to my receiving calls, isn't it? why do I need to see it on each outgoing call if it's referring to incoming call forwarding for when I don't answer my phone, or I'm busy on the phone?

  5. #5
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: call forwarding

    I have never seen this on my BB.....hmmm must be a carrrier thing
    Michael


  6. #6
    bernie213's Avatar
    bernie213 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: call forwarding

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I have at&t so its a US provider. I just landed in london and when I try and dial out it says call forwarding conditional, then doesn't make the call. I have an international plan, so what can I do to get my phone to work? All data works fyi

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: call forwarding

    I am not positive BUT you may have to notify AT&T that you are traveling international in order to use your phone across the pond.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    ChristineNYS's Avatar
    ChristineNYS no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    I just got a cable land line with Interntional calling. It says I may make calls remotely using an 800 #. If that is true, shouldn't I be able to make International calls from my mobile with no additional charges for the International call?
    At&T says no... however, someone told me they have used the 800# and never got charged for it.
    Any input on this?
    Thank you.
    C

  9. #9
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    try this if it works for you

    go into the call options go to call forwarding and set all the options to Do not forward...i had this issue some time back and my calls were going to an unknown number now its all good....hope it helps

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •